North Hopkins Newkirk, Smiddy named Co-MVP of District 17-A

From Staff Reports

May 18, 2008 - BIRTHRIGHT - North Hopkins senior Cayla Newkirk and junior Chastin Smiddy were named the Co-Most Valuable Players of District 17-A softball as voted on by the district coaches recently.

The Lady Panthers had two superlatives, four on the First Team, four on the Second Team and two on the Honorable Mention list. Saltillo placed 10 players on the team, Campbell had nine, Cumby finished with eight and Sulphur Bluff had four players.

North Hopkins senior Ashlie Newman was named First Team utility player, junior Jessica Harry and sophomore Courtney Loper were First Team infielders and sophomore Tana Hall was selected as a First Team outfielder. On the Second Team from North Hopkins were sophomore catcher Chelsea Hampton, senior third baseman Ashley Deaton, infielder Chrissy Hall and senior outfielder Brandi Loper. Juniors Grace Cox and Megan Haley were named Honorable Mention.

For the Saltillo Lady Lions, senior Winter Johnson was the district's Defensive MVP while freshman Kirsten McLane was the Newcomer of the Year. Saltillo had senior Jessica Gilbreath and Cassie Prather on the First Team, while Kimber Thompson, Brooke Lane and Regan Martin were named to the Second Team. On the Honorable Mention list were Emily White, Laci English and Brea Hubbard.

Cumby's Lindsey Lemon, Cristen Slaughter and Jennifer Herron were named to the First Team, while Courtney Steward, Savannah Neal and Brittney Seely were named to the Second Team. Megan Comer was named to the Honorable Mention squad.

Of Campbell's nine selections to the team, senior Kelly Ross received a superlative honor as the Offensive MVP of the district, while sister Katie was named First Team pitcher.

Sulphur Bluff's Ashley Bryant was named Second Team pitcher, while Stephanie Clanton, Ginger Thompson and Hayley Lawson were named Honorable MMention.

Below is the list of the District 17-A All-District team:

Co-MVP - Cayla Newkirk, North Hopkins, Sr.; Chastin Smiddy, North Hopkins, Jr.

Offensive MVP - Kelly Ross, Campbell, Sr.

Defensive MVP - Winter Johnson, Saltillo, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year - Kirsten McLane, Saltillo, Fresh.

First Team

Pitchers - Katie Ross, Campbell, Sr.; Lindsey Lemon, Cumby, Jr.

Catcher - Scarlett Tarno, Cumby, Sr.

Infielder - Jessica Gilbreath, Saltillo, Sr.; Jessica Jaco, Campbell, Jr.; Jessica Harry, North Hopkins, Jr.; Courtney Loper, North Hopkins, Soph.; Cristen Slaughter, Cumby, Jr.

Utility Player - Ashlie Newman, North Hopkins, Sr.

Outfield - Tana Hall, North Hopkins, Soph.; Cassie Prather, Saltillo, Soph.; Jennifer Herron, Cumby, Sr.; Krysta Reynolds, Campbell, Soph.

Second Team

Pitcher - Ashley Bryant, Sulphur Bluff, Soph.

Catcher - Chelsea Hampton, North Hopkins, Soph.

Infielder - Ashley Deaton, North Hopkins, Sr.; Courtney Steward, Cumby, Jr.; Janette Williams, Campbell, Fresh.; Chrissy Hall, North Hopkins, Fresh.; Savannah Neal, Cumby, Fresh.; Kimber Thompson, Saltillo, Fresh.

Utility Player - Brooke Lane, Saltillo, Fresh.; Brittney Seely, Cumby, Fresh.

Outfielders - Brandi Loper, North Hopkins, Sr.; Regan Martin, Saltillo, Fresh.; Jackie Brant, Campbell, Jr.

Honorable Mention

Campbell - Jordan Jaco, Fresh.; Arial Tucker, Jr.; Ashlee Honer.

Cumby - Megan Comer, Jr.

North Hopkins - Grace Cox, Jr.; Megan Haley, Jr.

Saltillo - Emily White; Laci English; Brea Hubbard.

Sulphur Bluff - Stephanie Clanton, Sr.; Ginger Thompson, Soph.; Hayley Lawson, Fresh.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008