County players highlight area All-District teams

From Staff Reports

March 2, 2008 - Saltillo placed five players on the All-District 22-A basketball team led by senior Derek McClure, who was named the district's Most Valuable Player.

The Lions, who finished the season with a 28-4 record and were ranked No. 16 in the state, also had the Coach of the Year in David Murphy.

Making the First Team were seniors Jocsan Gamez and Kenneth Poor, while senior Steven Mobley and junior Nolan Garmon were named to the Second Team.

After making it to the playoffs for the first time in five seasons, the Miller Grove Hornets placed seven players on the All-District squad led by senior Offensive Player of the Year Yan Heijligers and freshman Newcomer of the Year Andrew Steele.

On the Second Team were sophomores Aaron Baylus and Seth Roberts, while senior Kenny Robbins and freshmen Cayle Watson and Mason Kerby were named Honorable Mention.

Sulphur Bluff had four players make the team as senior Michael Hale was named to the First Team and junior Robert Messick was named to the Second Team. Junior classmates Gerardo Rodriguez and Cody Austin were selected Honorable Mention.

Campbell senior Ryan Seale and Fannindel sophomore Corey Brown shared the Defensive Player of the Year award for the district.

District 18-A boys

North Hopkins and Yantis placed six players each on the All-District 18-A basketball team, while the Cumby Trojans and the Boles Hornets had four selections.

"I was very pleased that our kids made an impression on the district coaches<" said Yantis head coach Larry Tucker. "Jordan Davis and Daniel Cerretani were both unanimous choices on First Team. We have had two successful years in a row and it shows in post season honors."

North Hopkins had superlative honors in three categories as senior Roger Sancho was named the Most Valuable Player, while sophomore Jy'Darius Hawkins was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year with Yantis senior Randy Smith. Freshman Canyon Cockrum shared Newcomer of the Year honors with Boles freshman Kailob Wallace.

Rounding out the superlative honors were Boles senior Daniel Sanchez for Offensive Player of the Year and North Hopkins coach Matt Rager asCoach of the Year after leading the Panthers to a 21-8 area round season.

Yantis placed five players on the First and Second Team as seniors Davis and Cord Burnett were named to the First Team along with junior teammate Daniel Cerretani. On the Second Team were sophomore Tony Garcia and freshman Allen Rose. Terry Thompson was named Honorable Mention.

Making First Team for North Hopkins was junior post Calvin Brey and senior post Robert White. On Second Team was freshman guard Paco Castro.

Cumby placed four players on the All-District team as senior Kris Stanford and sophomore Brixx Hawthorne were named First Team, while senior Brian Clem and sophomore Michael Moore were named to the Second Team.

District 22-A girls

Six Saltillo Lady Lions made the 22-A All-District basketball team, with four winning superlative awards, two being named to the Second Team and one player named Honorable Mention.

Senior Winter Johnson was named the district's Most Valuable Player, while classmates Jessica Gilbreath and Stephanie Methe were named Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Freshman point guard Brooke Lane also received a superlative honor as the Newcomer of the Year.

Saltillo coach Garry Davison was named as the Coach of the Year after guiding the Lady Lions to their second straight regional quarterfinals appearance with a 29-4 record and a No. 1 ranking in the state this season.

On the Second Team for Saltillo were junior Emily White and freshman Kimber Thompson. Sophomore Candace Prather received an Honorable Mention selection for the Lady Lions.

The other superlative honor was shared by Dodd City senior Cecily Darwin and Campbell senior Katie Ross for Co-Offensive Player of the Year.

Miller Grove had senior Adrian Estrada named to the First Team, withjuniors Rebecca George and Ina Jensen on the Second Team. Freshman Hailey Potts was selected Honorable Mention.

District 22-A Boys

MVP - Derek McClure, Saltillo, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year - Yan Heijligers, Miller Grove, Sr.

Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Ryan Seale, Campbell, Sr.; Corey Brown, Fannindel, So.

Newcomer of the Year - Andrew Steele, Miller Grove, Fr.

Coach of the Year - David Murphy, Saltillo.

First Team

Roxton - Monatio Earls, Sr.; Wesley Duke, Jr.

Sulphur Bluff - Michael Hale, Sr.

Fannindel - Keiston Champion, Sr.; Victor Lewis, Jr.

Saltillo - Jocsan Gamez, Sr.; Kenneth Poor, Sr.

Dodd City - Garret Sadler, Sr.

Campbell - David Higginbotham, Jr.

Second Team

Miller Grove - Aaron Baylus, So.; Seth Roberts, So.

Fannindel - Cord Trujillo, Jr.

Roxton - Tyler Jones, Jr.; Terrell Smith, Sr.

Saltillo - Steven Mobley, Sr.; Nolan Garmon, Jr.

Sulphur Bluff - Robert Messick, Jr.

Savoy - Matt Foster, Sr.

Dodd City - Ethan Stevens, Jr.

Honorable Mention

Miller Grove - Kenny Robbins, Sr.; Cayle Watson, Fr.; Mason Kerby, Fr.

Sulphur Bluff - Gerardo Rodriguez, Jr.; Cody Austin, Jr.

District 18-A Boys

Most Valuable Player - Roger Sancho, North Hopkins, Sr.

Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Randy Smith, Yantis, Sr.; Jy'Darius Hawkins, North Hopkins, So.

Offensive Player of the Year - Daniel Sanchez, Boles, Sr.

Co-Newcomer of the Year - Canyon Cockrum, North Hopkins, Fr.; Kailob Wallace, Boles, Fr.

Coach of the Year - Matt Rager, North Hopkins

First Team

Yantis - Jordan Davis, Sr.; Daniel Cerretani, Jr.; Cord Burnett, Sr.

North Hopkins - Calvin Brey, Jr.; Robert White, Sr.

Cumby - Kris Stanford, Sr.; Brixx Hawthorne, So.

Second Team

Yantis - Allen Rose, Fr.; Tony Garcia, So.

North Hopkins - Paco Castro, Fr.

Cumby - Michael Moore, So.; Brian Clem, Sr.

Boles - Michael Jordan, Fr.; Tate Stevens, So.

Honorable Mention

Yantis - Terry Thompson.

District 22-A Girls

MVP - Winter Johnson, Saltillo, Sr.

Co-Offensive Player of the Year - Cecily Darwin, Dodd City, Sr.; Katie Ross, Campbell, Sr.

Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Jessica Gilbreath, Saltillo, Sr.; Stephanie Methe, Saltillo, Sr.

Newcomer of the Year - Brooke Lane, Saltillo, Fr.

Coach of the Year - Garry Davison, Saltillo

First Team

Dodd City - Kamey Herpeche, Sr.

Roxton - Myoshia Wesley, Sr.

Campbell - Kelly Ross, Sr.; Brittney Haas, Sr.

Sulphur Bluff - Summer Stailey, Jr.

Miller Grove - Adrian Estrada, Sr.

Roxton - Roshawnda Green, Sr.

Savoy - Destiny Moore, Jr.

Second Team

Saltillo - Emily White, Jr.; Kimber Thompson, Fr.

Dodd City - Kassidi Rogers, Jr.

Savoy - Jessica Lewis, Sr.; Marquin Malone, Jr.

Fannindel - Rosalyn McGee, So.

Miller Grove - Rebecca George, Jr.; Ina Jensen, Jr.

Campbell - Jennette Williams, Fr.

Honorable Mention

Campbell - Krystal Reynolds, Sr.

Roxton - Lisa Barnes, Sr.

Sulphur Bluff - Ashley Bryant, Jr.

Dodd City - Lauren Anderson, Sr.

Miller Grove - Hailey Potts, Fr.

Saltillo - Candace Prather, So.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008