Nash, Lee lead SSHS district honorees

By JOSEPH ELERSON | News-Telegram Sports Writer

Feb. 28, 2008 - The Sulphur Springs Wildcats placed six players on the District 11-4A All-District team recently in voting by the district coaches.

Juniors Jonathan Lee and Colton Nash were named to the Second Team, while Anthony Mills, Kedrick Dial, Andrew Panter and Bryant "Day Day" Jackson were named Honorable Mention.

Head coach Braughn Curtis said he was surprised about Lee, who averaged 11.1 ppg., 3.3 rebounds, 0.7 steals and 0.5 assists per game this season. Lee was the leading scorer in four of the team's district games.

"It was tough to see that and I tried to nominate him for Newcomer of the Year," the coach said. "He missed out on that by one vote, and I tried my hardest to get him that nomination. He almost did not get the Second Team and was voted in by the Mount Pleasant coach at the last minute. He deserved the recognition on the team for the way that he played this season."

For Nash, the 6-6 junior post had a consistent district season for the Wildcats as he averaged 8.4 points, 7.2 rebounds, 0.5 assists and 0.4 steals per game.

"Nash was a legitimate second teamer this season," Curtis said. "He will definitely be a dominant player in the district next year."

Mills was second in scoring for the Wildcats at 7.3 ppg. and first in assists at 2.3 per game, while Jackson was fourth in scoring at 6.7 points and led the team in 3-pointers with eight during district play.

For Dial, the 6-5 junior post averaged 6.3 points and 5.6 boards per game, while Panter averaged 2.3 points, 2.3 rebounds and 1.8 assists.

"Getting those four guys on the team is something that we need to build on next season," the coach said. "We need to keep working and do well with what we have next year."

Paris led the All-District team with five players led by the Most Valuable Player Courtney Jackson and Defensive Player of the Year Keon Furtch. Paris also had the Newcomer of the Year in Kendall King.

Paris coach Billy Mack Steed was named Coach of the Year after guiding the Wildcats to an undefeated district season.

Mount Pleasant guard Trentson Hill took the other superlative award as the Offensive Player of the Year.

"The team was accurate and Courtney Jackson deserved to be the MVP without a doubt this year," Curtis said. "With Trentson Hill, when you can hit seven 3-pointers in a game then you deserve to be the Offensive MVP. There was three guys nominated for Defensive MVP and the voting was close for all of them, but Furtch had a good year this year."

Below is the list of the All-District 11-4A basketball team:

MVP - Courtney Jackson, Paris

Offensive Player of the Year - Trentson Hill, Mount Pleasant

Defensive Player of the Year - Keon Furtch, Paris

Newcomer of the Year - Kendall King, Paris

Coach of the Year - Billy Mack Steed, Paris

First Team

Paris - Desmond Jenkins, Roro Barr

Mount Pleasant - Tye Lewis

Lindale - Cedric Jones, Cameron Dossey

North Lamar - Justin Collard, Qualon Fort

Second Team

Mount Pleasant - Jason Armstead, Tyrone Rogers

Sulphur Springs - Jonathan Lee, Colton Nash

Texas High - Kerry Manning, K.J. Jackson

Lindale - Imran Chotani

North Lamar - Patrick Thomas

Honorable Mention (SSHS players listed only)

Anthony Mills, Kedrick Dial, Andrew Panter, Bryant Jackson.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008