Six Lady Cats on All-District basketball team

By BOBBY "BUTCH" BURNEY, News-Telegram Sports Editor

Feb. 19, 2008 - Six Sulphur Springs Lady Cats made the 11-4A All-District basketball team, with three being named First Team and another winning a superlative award.

The voting was done last week by the district's coaches.

A total of 29 girls made the All-District team, which had 11 superlative honors.

For Sulphur Springs, junior Stevie Moore was named Newcomer of the Year after averaging 4.3 points and 1.1 rebounds per game. She made 10 3-pointers in district.

On the First Team for the Lady Cats were junior point guard Mackenzie Cross and seniors Starkeisha Wright and Stephanie Conley.

Cross led the team in steals (1.9 per game) and assists (4.3) while averaging 8.7 points. She also grabbed 3.0 rebounds per game in district.

Wright was the team's leading scorer in the 10 district games, averaging 8.7 points. She also had 5.7 rebounds per game. Conley was the team's leading rebounder at 6.8 per game, plus averaged 6.0 points and 1.8 steals.

On the Second Team for Sulphur Springs were senior guard Jessica Savage and sophomore guard Stefanie Pruitt.

Savage averaged 5.0 points per game and hit a team-high 18 3-pointers in district. She also came up with 2.2 rebounds, 1.8 steals and 1.3 assists. Pruitt, meanwhile, averaged 4.8 points and hit nine 3-pointers in district. She also averaged 1.1 steals and 1.0 rebounds.

Sulphur Springs went 3-7 in district and tied for the most players on the All-District squad (six) with North Lamar and Mount Pleasant.

Three North Lamar players shared the Most Valuable Player award: seniors Logan Anglin, Ali Stone and Emily Fouse. The Offensive Player of the Year was shared by Lindale senior Madison Killingsworth and Mount Pleasant junior Destiny Smith.

Defensive Player of the Year went to Mount Pleasant senior Katara Wilson and Lindale senior Whitney Binder. Freshmen of the Year were both from Paris: Shanice Hill and Ariole Jenkins. Rebounder of the Year was Mount Pleasant senior Callie Thomas.

Lindale coach Greg Strawn was voted Coach of the Year after the Lady Eagles finished in third place.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008