More All-Staters

Rollison voted to Second Team, Francis on Third Team; Beck, Thompson, Diamond and Dunn are Honorable Mention

From Staff, Wire Reports

Feb. 1, 2008 - Sulphur Springs junior quarterback Tyrik Rollison added another All-State selection to his resume on Thursday, and was joined on the honorary team by five of his teammates.

Rollison was selected Second Team All-State quarterback by the Texas Sports Writers Association, while senior defensive lineman Tyler Francis was selected as Second Team.

Four other Wildcats were named Honorable Mention: senior wide receivers Jeff Beck and Chris Thompson and junior linebackers Brittan Diamond and Josh Dunn.

For Rollison, Thompson, Francis and Dunn, it is their second All-State honor this offseason.

Rollson was a First Team All-State selection by the Texas Associated Press Sports Editors, while Thompson, Francis and Dunn were all Honorable Mention.

The TSWA awards are for the entire season, including playoffs, while the TAPSE nominations were for the regular season.

For the entire season, Rollison threw for 3,665 yards by completing 295-of-424 passes for 37 touchdowns. All of those are school records. He also set a record for highest completion percentage (70.0) and lowest interception percentage (0.0236). He also ran 130 times for 549 yards and seven more touchdowns.

Francis accounted for 89 tackles, 11 for losses and 3.5 sacks. He also blocked a kick, caused a fumble and batted down a pass. He was the District 11-4A Defensive Lineman of the Year.

Beck set a school record with 109 career receptions, with 72 of them coming this season for 778 yards and six TDs. He also was the team's leading kickoff returner (12 for 228 yards) and punt returner (7 for 44 yards) and was named the 11-4A Kick Returner of the Year.

Thompson caught 60 passes for team-high 898 yards and a school record 11 touchdowns. He also led the team in scoring with 70 points.

Diamond was the team's most versatile player. On defense, he got in on 103 tackles, five of them for losses, and three sacks. He also recovered one fumble and intercepted one pass. Offensively, he caught 27 passes for 221 yards and two TDs, and rushed 36 times for 165 yards and five touchdowns.

Dunn led the team in tackles with 137, seven of them for losses, and five sacks. He also recovered a team-high five fumbles and intercepted a pass.

Below are the voting results for the Class 4A All-State team.

First Team


Guards - Will Foster, Mesquite Poteet, 6-3, 275, Sr.; Pressley Goodson, Lamar Consolidated, 6-3, 295, Jr.

Tackles - Luke Poehlman, Brenham, 6-5, 260, Sr.; Paden Kelley, Lake Travis, Jr.

Center - Chris Collins, Keller Fossil Ridge, 6-1, 285, Sr.

Wide receivers - Jason Bird, Austin Lake Travis, 5-10, 165, Sr.; Seth Gardner, Highland Park, 6-4, 185, Sr.

Tight end - Derrick Grant, Austin LBJ, 6-3, 200, Sr.

Quarterback - Garrett Gilbert, Lake Travis, 6-3, 186, Jr.

Running backs - Jacquizz Rodgers, Lamar Consolidated, 5-7, 190, Sr.; Troy Vital, Copperas Cove, 6-1, 190, Sr.; Johnny Thomas, Texas City, 6-0, 180, Sr.

Placekicker - Ross Evans, Burnet, 5-9, 170, Sr. <B>Defense

Linemen - Ricky Cavanaugh, Austin LBJ, 6-2, 220, Sr.; Damion Square, Houston Yates, 6-3, 255, Sr.; R.J. Washington, Keller Fossil Ridge, 6-4, 245, Sr.; Dravannti Johnson, Nederland, 6-3, 220, Sr.

Linebackers - Tanner Brock, Copperas Cove, 6-4, 210, Jr.; Blane Cheatham, Aledo, 6-0, 191, Sr.; Tom Wort, New Braunfels, 6-1, 210, Jr.; Kyle Prater, Kerrville Tivy, 6-1, 215, Sr.

Secondary - Cody Davis, Stephenville, 6-3, 205, Sr.; Steven Fleming, Lamar Consolidated, 6-4, 180, Jr.; D.J. Monroe, Angleton, 5-10, 175, Sr.; Markelle Martin, WF Rider, 6-3, 185, Sr.

Punter - Drew Nelson, Livingston, 6-1, 185, Sr.

Kick returner - D.J. Monroe, Angleton, 5-10, 175, Sr.

Offensive player of the year - Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Lamar Consolidated

Defensive player of the year - (tie) Ricky Cavanaugh, DL, Austin LBJ and Damion Square, DL, Houston Yates

Coach of the year - (tie) Lydell Wilson, Lamar Consolidated and Jeff Dicus, Lake Travis

Second Team

(Area players only)


Wide receivers - Bart Henderson, Whitehouse, 6-2, 185, Sr.

Quarterback - Tyrik Rolison, Sulphur Springs, 6-2, 175, Jr.

Running backs - Kendial Lawrence, Rockwall-Heath, 5-9, 167, Jr.


Secondary - Steven Hicks, Whitehouse, Sr.; (tie) Trenston Hill, Mount Pleasant, 6-1, 180, Sr.;

Third Team

(Area players only)


Quarterback - Brady Attaway, Whitehouse, 6-2, 190, Jr.


Linemen - Tyler Francis, Sulphur Springs, 6-4, 230, Sr.

Honorable Mention

(Area players only)


Guards - Charles Reeves, Longview Pine Tree, 6-5, 305, Sr.

Tackles - Bennielee Shelby, Greenville,6-0, 250, Sr.

Wide receivers - Jeff Beck, Sulphur Springs, 5-10, 160, Sr.; Chris Thompson, Sulphur Springs, 6-2, 190, Sr.

Running backs - Waymon James, Sherman, Jr.


Linemen - Brian Lilly, Denison, Sr.

Linebackers - Brandon Brown, Texas High, 6-1, 215, sr.; Brittan Diamond, Sulphur Springs, 6-2, 200, Sr.; Josh Dunn, Sulphur Springs, 5-11, 195, Sr.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008