Softball Honors: North Hopkins, Cumby players earn 17-A superlatives; Saltillo, Sulphur Bluff represented on First Team All-District

From Staff Reports

May 30, 2007 - North Hopkins senior KayLee Cotten, who went unbeaten in the circle during the District 17-A season, was named the district's Most Valuable Player last week in voting by the coaches. She was joined by five other Lady Panthers on the First Team.

Cumby's Scarlett Tarno also earned a superlative award by being voted the Defensive Player of the Year. The Lady Trojans had three other players on the First Team.

Saltillo had three First Team honorees as well, and Sulphur Bluff added a pair of First Teamers.

The other superlative awards went to Campbell's Jessica Taco as Newcomer of the Year and Katie Ross as Offensive Player of the Year.

Cotten led the Lady Panthers to a 10-0 record in district and also won two area games. She was MVP of two tournaments (Ashdown, Ark. and Martins Mill), and notched 20 victories including three no-hitters and one perfect game.

She was joined on the First Team by teammates Chastin Smiddy and Holli Argenbright on the infield, Cayla Newkirk in the outfield and Brandi Loper at designated player.

For Cumby, Tarno was joined on the First Team by Lady Trojans' Lindsey Lemon at pitcher, Courtney Stewart on the infield and Jennifer Herron in the outfield. Cumby finished as the district's third-place team.

Saltillo's battery of senior pitcher Chloe Roberts and junior catcher Winter Stevens were both First Team selections along with outfielder Bethany Densmore.

Sulphur Bluff was represented on the First Team by infielder Ginger Thompson and utility player Ashley Bryant.

On the Second Team for North Hopkins were catcher Jessica Harry, infielder Ashley Deaton, outfielder Tana Hall and utility player Ashley Newman. For Cumby, it was infielder Whitney Webb and outfielder Khristi Nedved. Saltillo's Becca Rogers was a Second Team infielder.

Honorable Mention went to North Hopkins' Courtney Loper and Tequira Hood, Cumby's Cristen Slaughter, Sulphur Bluff's Stephanie Clanton, and Saltillo's Emily White and Jessica Gilbreath.

Below is the complete 17-A All-District team:

Most Valuable Player - KayLee Cotten, North Hopkins

Newcomer of the Year - Jessica Taco, Campbell

Defensive Player of the Year - Scarlett Tarno, Cumby

Offensive Player of the Year - Katie Ross, Campbell

First Team

Pitcher - Chloe Roberts, Saltillo; Lindsey Lemon, Cumby

Catcher - Winter Stevens, Saltillo

Infielders - Courtney Stewart, Cumby; Ginger Thompson, Sulphur Bluff; Chastin Smiddy, North Hopkins; Holli Argenbright, North Hopkins; Kelli Ross, Campbell

Outfielders - Bethany Densmore, Saltillo; Cayla Newkirk, North Hopkins; Brittney Haas, Campbell; Jennifer Herron, Cumby

Utility Player - Ashley Bryant, Sulphur Bluff

Designated Player - Brandi Loper, North Hopkins; Arial Tucker, Campbell

Second Team

Catcher - Jessica Harry, North Hopkins

Infielders - Whitney Webb, Cumby; Becca Rogers, Saltillo; Ashley Deaton, North Hopkins; Jessica Barker, Campbell

Outfielders - Kelli Morris, Campbell; Khristi Nedved, Cumby; Tana Hall, North Hopkins

Utility Player - Ashley Newman, North Hopkins

Honorable Mention

North Hopkins - Courtney Loper, Tequira Hood

Cumby - Cristen Slaughter

Fannindel - Tiara Johnson, Ladetre Aubrey, Charlotte Aubrey

Saltillo - Emily White, Jessica Gilbreath

Campbell - Kassie Furstenwerth, Jackie Brent, Morgan Combs

Academic All-District

Saltillo - Chloe Roberts, Becca Rogers

Fannindel - Tenesha Allen

North Hopkins - Cayla Newkirk, Brandi Loper, Tana Hall

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008