Crocker named District 18-A Most Valuable Player

From Staff Reports

Mar. 10, 2007 - Hopkins County players were well-represented on the District 18-A All-District basketball squad, with North Hopkins senior Steven Crocker leading the list as the district's MVP.

Crocker, the leading scorer for the district champion Panthers, was joined on the First Team by classmates Dustin Clements and Ricky Willis. On the Second Team from NHHS were junior Roger Sancho and senior Gerard Woodard, and Honorable Mention selections went to seniors Blake McClure and Brian Vaughn. North Hopkins' first-year coach Matt Rager was named the district's Coach of the Year.

"Stevie Crocker was very deserving of the MVP," said Yantis coach Larry Tucker. "Coach Rager was a most deserving Coach of the Year. He had a really tough job being a new coach with so many seniors and trying to implement a new program. It's very difficult to come into a traditionally powerful program and be successful in your first year."

Yantis, making its first playoff appearance in 18 years, was also well-represented. Junior Jordan Davis was named the Defensive Player of the Year, and junior Cord Burnett and sophomores Daniel Cerretani and Zach Leatherwood were selected to the First Team. The Owls had three Honorable Mention selections in senior Jordan Thompson, junior Randy Smith and freshman Tony Garcia.

"I was pleased that the coaches thought so highly of so many of our kids. To get the Defensive Player and three First Team players is quite an honor for our kids and for me as their coach," Tucker said.

Cumby had the Newcomer of the Year in freshman Brixx Hawthorne. Cumby also had First Teamers in juniors Josh Rodriguez and Kris Stanford and Second-Teamer Jeffrey Smith.

Other superlative honors went to Boles senior Ethan Foster for Offensive Player of the Year.

Below is the District 18-A All-District Team:

District MVP - Steven Crocker, North Hopkins, Sr.

Offensive Player of the Year - Ethan Foster, Boles, Sr.

� Defensive Player of the Year - Jordan Davis, Yantis, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year - Brixx Hawthorne, Cumby, Fr.

Coach of the Year - Matt Rager, North Hopkins

First Team

North Hopkins - Dustin Clements, Sr.; Ricky Willis, Sr.  

Yantis - Cord Burnett, Jr.; Daniel Cerretani, Soph.; Zach Leatherwood, Soph.

Boles - Zach Chambers, Sr.; Daniel Sanchez, Jr.

Cumby - Josh Rodriguez, Jr.; Kris Stanford, Jr.

Second Team

North Hopkins - Roger Sancho, Jr.; Gerard Woodard, Sr.

Union Hill - Andre Thomas, Sr.; Brady Helton, Sr. 

Cumby - Jeffrey Smith, Sr. 

Boles - Aaron Barrett, Sr.

Honorable Mention

North Hopkins - Blake McClure, Sr.; Brian Vaughn, Sr.

Yantis - Jordan Thompson, Sr.; Randy Smith, Jr.; Tony Garcia, Fr.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008