Led by Burnett, Yantis takes boys 20A golf crown

From Staff Reports

April 7, 2007 - YANTIS - Led by Cord Burnett's 81, the Yantis Owls won the District 20-A golf championship, whipping perennial power James Bowie by 18 strokes. The Yantis "B" team tool sixth place in the 10-team field.

Yantis sophomore Amanda McKinney advanced as a medalist with a 119.

The Yantis boys "A" team consisted of Burnett, Daniel Cerratani (90), Kenny Nunez (95), Darren Burgess (100) and Cory Ward (107).

Terry Thompson, Justin Hunt, Luke Mitchell and Zach Leatherwood paced the Yantis "B" squad.

Burnett's 81 captured the second-best score of the district tournament.

"There were a couple of holes I had a double bogey and I know I can do better than that," Burnett said. "I am looking forward to going to Nacogdoches for the region tournament this year."

Yantis coach Michael Alphin was excited.

"I knew if we shot as well as I knew we could, that we could win a district championship. These young men have worked extremely hard to get better each week and it paid off at district," Alphin said. "This time at region, I don't think we will be as intimidated as we were last year. I am proud of the improvement we have had in Yantis golf in the past three years."

Burnett's triumph was notable because he head a near season-ending shoulder injury in a collision during a baseball game March 2.

"Cord still can't throw a baseball, but he can swing a golf club, without too much pain" Yantis athletic director Larry Tucker said. "He wanted to try to play baseball the day before the golf tournament but his dad (Billy Burnett) and I thought it would just be too much. I am very proud of Cord being successful in golf despite the shoulder bothering him a lot. Hopefully, by the region golf tournament, he will be in top condition. You have to wonder how good he can be when he is completely recovered."

The Class A, Region 3 golf tournament will be in Nacogdoches on April 23-24.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008