Saltillo's Payne named MVP of District 22A; Teammate McClure named Defensive POY

From Staff Reports

Mar. 31, 2007 - SALTILLO - The Saltillo Lions had five players named to the District 22-A All-District team recently as Miles Payne was voted the Most Valuable Player.

Teammate Derek McClure was named the Defensive Player of the Year, Travis Thompson was selected First Team All-District, Jocsan Gamez was named to the Second Team and junior Stephen Mobley was voted Honorable Mention. Saltillo head coach David Murphy was named the Coach of the Year.

The Sulphur Bluff Bears had two players named to the team in Merced Rodriguez on First Team and Robert Messick was recognized on the Second Team.

Miller Grove's Yan Heijligers was named to the Second Team.

Below is the list of the District 22-A All-District team:

Most Valuable Player - Miles Payne, Saltillo

Offensive Player of the Year - Justin Burden, Campbell

Defensive Player of the Year - Derek McClure, Saltillo

Newcomer of the Year - Justin Curry, Savoy

Coach of the Year - David Murphy, Saltillo

First Team

Campbell - Ryan Seale.

Dodd City - Justin Spindle, Tyler Jones.

Saltillo - Travis Thompson.

Sulphur Bluff - Merced Rodriguez.

Fannindel - Corey Brown.

Savoy - Kris Threet.

Second Team

Miller Grove - Yan Heijligers.

Dodd City - Garrett Sadler.

Sulphur Bluff - Robert Messick.

Fannindel - Keiston Champion.

Saltillo - Jocsan Gamez.

Campbell - Justin Hebert.

Savoy - Steve Curry.

Honorable Mention

Saltillo - Steven Mobley, Jr.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008