Yantis, Miller Grove and North Hopkins lead 18-A All-District volleyball
From Staff Reports

Nov. 15, 2006 - Yantis, Miller Grove and North Hopkins each had a solid representation on the All-District 18-A volleyball team released last week, with the three county schools combining for 10 First or Second Team honors.

North Hopkins senior Ebbonye Johnson was named the Most Valuable Player of the district after leading the Lady Panthers to a runner-up finish.

Miller Grove junior Natalie Bailey was tabbed as the Offensive MVP and sophomore teammate Angelic Rios was voted as the Newcomer of the Year.

Other superlative awards went to Fruitvale junior Erin Lane as the Defensive MVP, Fruitvale freshman Allison Lewis as the Outstanding Setter and Coach Carl McCann was the Coach of the Year.

On the First Team were North Hopkins senior Sabra Thomas, Miller Grove junior Adrian Estrada, and Yantis juniors Jamie Gilliland and Isy Reyna.

On the Second Team were North Hopkins seniors Holly Argenbright and KayLee Cotten, and Miller Grove junior Amanda Sims.

Honorable Mention awards went to North Hopkins' Chastin Smiddy, Hannah Martel, Kadee Melton, Jessica Harry, Jessi Mannis and Ashley Deaton, Miller Grove's Rebecca George, Diane Sparks and Jennifer Mayfield, and Yantis' Bailey Gilbreath and Jayna Bevill.

Below is the list of the District 18-A volleyball honors:

MVP - Ebbonye Johnson, Sr., North Hopkins.

Offensive MVP - Natalie Bailey, Jr., Miller Grove.

Defensive MVP - Erin Lane, Jr., Fruitvale.

Outstanding Setter - Allison Lewis, Fr., Fruitvale.

Newcomer - Angelic Rios, So., Miller Grove.

Coach of the Year - Carl McCann, Fruitvale.

First Team

Adrian Estrada, Jr., Miller Grove; Jamie Gilliland, Jr., Yantis; Isy Reyna, Jr., Yantis; Sabra Thomas, Sr., North Hopkins; Brittney Hodges, So., Fruitvale; Brook Yates, Jr., Fruitvale.

Second Team

Holly Argenbright, Sr., North Hopkins; KayLee Cotten, Sr., North Hopkins; Whitney Whitaker, So., Fruitvale; Ashley Homan, Jr., Fruitvale; Magon Anderson, Sr., Union Hill; Amanda Sims, Jr., Miller Grove.

Honorable Mention

Fruitvale - Leslie Sprabary, Jessica Carter.

Miller Grove - Rebecca George, Diane Sparks, Jennifer Mayfield.

Yantis - Bailey Gilbreath, Jayna Bevill.

North Hopkins - Chastin Smiddy, Hannah Martel, Kadee Melton, Jessica Harry, Jessi Mannis, Ashley Deaton.

Union Hill - Anna Medina.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008