Riff Raff takes Tuesday mixed title for 2005-06
Larry Mason

May 6, 2006 - The team with the best won-loss record for the season, the Misfits, didn’t win the Tuesday night mixed league championship, nor did the team that won two of the four quarterly qualifiers, Lightning Strikes. That goes to show that teams shouldn’t quit before that fat lady sings. The Riff Raff squad didn’t quit, and as a result, won the 2005/2006 Tuesday Night Mixed League championship. And they won the championship in style. 

The Riff Raff squad, comprised of husband and wife Cliff and Erma Whitney, and mother and son Debbie and Michael Carter, came into Tuesdays championship roll-off by virtue of their having won one of the four season quarterly qualifiers. Their competition included the Pin Heads, the Misfits and Lightning Strikes. 

After Game 1 of the championship roll-off was over, Riff Raff had accounted for 868 pins; Lightning Strikes had 808, the Misfits 795 and the Pinheads 792. Riff Raff’s smallest lead was 60 pins over Lightning Strikes, the team comprised of husband and wife David and Donna Soeder, Ray Howser and Wes Campbell, and they held a 73-pin lead over the Misfits, the team of David Gholson, Duane Anspon and husband and wife Larry and Barbara Siegert. Riff Raff led the Pin Heads, the team of husband and wife Rick and Barbara Pearce, Don Gammill and Joe Kirkpatrick, by 76 pins

At the conclusion of Game 2, Riff Raff had shot an 887, the Pinheads 826, Lightning Strikes 767 and the Misfits 737. Riff Raff increased their lead over the Pin Heads to 137 pins, Lightning Strikes to 180 pins and to 223 pins over the Misfits. The championship was pretty much in the bag at this point in the contest. 

In Game 3, The Misfits and Lightning Strikes made a run at Riff Raff, shooting 877 and 850, respectively, compared to Riff Raff’s 820. The Misfits cut 57 pins off of Riff Raff’s lead over them, while Lightning Strikes chopped 30 pins off of Riff Raff’s lead over them. Still, Riff Raff stayed the course, shooting a total of 2,575 compared to second place finishers, the Pin Heads, 2,429, third place claimants, Lightning Strikes, 2,425, and last place finishers, the Misfits, 2,409. 

Michael Carter was high for the Riff Raff, shooting a 656 series comprised of games of 216, 226 and 214, while teammate Cliff Whitney finished with a 651 series made up of games of 206, 208 and 237. Debbie finished with a 588 series, 60 pins over her series average. Erma Whitney finished with a 467, 13 pins under her series average.

The highest series rolled during the roll-off was a 715 series, shooting games of 274, 214 and 227. The series is David’s third in two weeks, and his sixth of the season. Unfortunately, it wasn’t enough to carry the Misfits to the championship. 

Don Gammill, who averaged 162 going  into the roll-off, averaged 222 Tuesday during the roll-off, shooting games of 203, 247 and 216. It is Don’s best series of the season, and was instrumental in the Pin Heads taking second place for the night.

The Tuesday night league saw two honor games this season, a 299 from Jason Keller and a 298 by Joe Kirkpatrick. The highest series, another honor score, was an 806 tossed by Wes Campbell. It was the highest series rolled at Classic Lanes this year. Michael Carter had the league’s second best series, a 782. 

Wes Campbell completed the Tuesday league with a 220.89 average, while Jason Keller wound up play with a 219.69. Joe Kirkpatrick finished third with a 214.87.

The men’s Most Improved Bowler award went to David Gholson, who raised his average a whopping 16.97 pins over the course of the league.  Duane Anspon finished second with a 13.84 improvement, while Justin Parmer claimed third best improvement, raising his average by 12.47 pins. 

Tammy Haley produced the ladies’ highest series, a 638. She was followed by Amanda Green’s 630. Barbara Siegert finished third with a 603. 

Donna Soeder registered the ladies’ best game of the season, a 256, followed by Barbara Siegert’s 242 and Amanda Green’s 236. 

The ladies best average came from Debbie Carter, who finished with a 176.40. She was chased all season long by second place finisher, Kathy Vansickle and her 176.09. Barbara Siegert finished third with a 175.32.  Tammy Haley was right behind Barbara with a 175.12. 

The Tuesday night award for Most Improved Bowler went to Ann Wiginton, who raised her average by 13.08 pins. Ann broke her hip two seasons ago, and was out of the loop for all of that time, returning to the lanes last August. Finishing second to Ann was Stacy Ward, who increased her average by 12.71 pins. Third place finisher, Tammy Haley and her 11.02 increase, followed her.


Larry Mason writes a weekly column on the bowling action at Classic Lanes.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008