Pope, Vargas and Biggerstaff named to All-District team
From Staff Reports

March 9, 2006 - Two Sulphur Springs seniors and a junior made an impression on the District 12-4A coaches with nominations on the All-District team released this week.

Senior Jay Pope was the top SSHS honoree being named to the Second Team, while teammates Jose Vargas and Drew Biggerstaff were named Honorable Mention All-District for their play during a season in which the Wildcats went 1-9 in district under new head coach Jeff Carroll.

"Those three guys all provided great leadership for us and really worked hard for us all year long," Carroll said. "It's an honor to them and their character to accomplish something like that in a district where you had a team going to regional tournament. These guys deserved their awards and recognition because of the hard work and effort they put into it and the results they achieved on the court."

Pope averaged 8.4points, 3.4 rebounds, 1.7 steals, and 1.9 assists in district play, while Vargas averaged 6.3 ppg., 4.9 boards, 0.8 steals, and 0.1 assists and Biggerstaff averaged 6.7 ppg., 3.9 rebounds, 1.5 steals, and 2.4 assists in district play. 

Biggerstaff best game of the district season was against Texas High - a game in which he recorded his only double-double of the season with 21 points, 11 rebounds, one steal and three assists. 

Pope scored in double figures in four of the Wildcats' 10 district games and had 15 points in his first 12-4A game against Paris. He also had four rebounds, one steal and four assists in the contest.

Vargas had his best game of the district season against North Lamar as he finished with 11 points and six rebounds in a 52-45 overtime win in Paris.

The Paris Wildcats, who placed five players and their head coach on the list after making it to the Regional tournament received superlative honors for Courtney Jackson who was named MVP, while teammate Thurman Taylor was named Defensive Player of the Year and coach Brock Blassingame was named the Coach of the Year. First Team selections were junior Marshall Carrell, senior Bobo Twitty and sophomore Keon Furtch.

Other superlative honors went to Texas High's Leon Harris as the Offensive Player of the Year, Mount Pleasant sophomore Tye-Tye Lewis for Newcomer of the Year, and North Lamar sophomore Qualon Fort as the Sophomore of the Year.

The 12-4A All-District team is as follows: 


Most Valuable Player: Courtney Jackson, Soph., Paris

Offensive Player of the Year: Leon Harris, Jr., Texas High

Defensive Player of the Year: Thurman Taylor, Sr., Paris

Newcomer of the Year: Tye-Tye Lewis, Soph., Mount Pleasant

Sophomore of the Year: Qualon Fort, Soph., North Lamar

Coach of the Year: Brock Blassingame, Paris

First Team All-District 

Marshall Carrell, Jr., Paris; Keon Furtch, Soph., Paris; Bobo Twitty, Sr., Paris; Daniel Glover, Jr., Texas High; Ryan Mallett, Jr., Texas High; Scooter Van Dyke, Jr., Mount Pleasant, Carliss Robinson, Jr., Mount Pleasant; Kaleb Henderson, Jr., Greenville; Chad Robinson, Sr., Greenville; James Savage, Jr., Greenville.

Second Team All-District 

Toad Junior, Sr., Texas High; Kevin Cheatum, Jr., Mount Pleasant; Jessie Green, Sr., Mount Pleasant; Byron Bell, Jr., Greenville; Shane Gray, Jr., Greenville; Justin Collard, Soph., North Lamar; Jay Pope, Sr., Sulphur Springs.

Honorable Mention All-District (Sulphur Springs players listed only):

Jose Vargas, Sr.; Drew Biggerstaff, Jr.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008