District 19-A All-District teams announced

Feb. 23, 2006 - A pair of North Hopkins players shared District 19-A MVP honors in All-District voting by coaches released this week.

On the girls team, NH senior Katy Williams was Co-MVP, while on boys side, senior Cory Johnson shared the same honor.

North Hopkins and Cumby were both represented on the honorary teams, along with NH boys coach Steve Drummond and girls coach Tim Menke, who were each named Coach of the Year.



After finishing the regular season at 22-9 overall and as the District 19-A champions, the North Hopkins Panthers were awarded with eight selections on the All-District team.

Senior Cory Johnson, who averaged 14 points per game this season, was honored with the Co-Most Valuable Player award, along with Campbell's Justin Birden.

Drummond, who took over the program this season, was named as the Coach of the Year by his peers. 

Other superlatives honors went to Boles senior Chris Arnwine as the Offensive Player of the Year, Campbell senior James Day and Cumby senior Justin O'Mara as Co-Defensive Players of the Year, and Boles sophomore Daniel Sanchez as the Newcomer of the Year.

North Hopkins senior J.P. Whittle and teammate Steven Crocker were named First Team All-District, while Cumby senior Jake Petty was named First Team.

On the Second Team was North Hopkins seniors Jake Cockrum and Spencer McQueen, along with Cumby senior Josh Petty.

North Hopkins junior Dustin Clements and sophomore Roger Sancho were selected on the Honorable Mention list, along with Cumby's Jeff Smith and Chris Stanford.

Below is the list for the District 19-A All-District team:

Co-MVP - Cory Johnson, Sr., North Hopkins; Justin Burden, Jr., Campbell.

Offensive Player of the Year - Chris Arnwine, Sr., Boles.

Co-Defensive Players of the Year - James Day, Sr., Campbell; Justin O'Mara, Sr., Cumby.

Newcomer of the Year - Daniel Sanchez, Soph., Boles.

Coach of the Year - Steve Drummond, North Hopkins.

First Team All-District - J.P. Whittle, Sr., North Hopkins; Jake Petty, Sr., Cumby; Steven Crocker, Jr., North Hopkins; Kelsey Grammar, Sr. Campbell; Ethan Foster, Jr. Boles; Ben Cox, Sr. Fruitvale.

Second Team All-District - Jake Cockrum, Sr., North Hopkins; Spencer McQueen, Sr., North Hopkins; Adam Cleveland, Sr., Boles; Jordan Kasper, Sr., Campbell; Ryan Seale, Soph., Campbell, Josh Petty, Sr., Cumby.

Honorable Mention - Dustin Clements, Jr., North Hopkins; Roger Sancho, Soph., North Hopkins; Jeff Smith, Jr., Cumby; Chris Stanford, Soph., Cumby; Justin Gustafson, Jr., Campbell.



After finishing their season Tuesday night with an overtime playoff loss to Elkhart Slocum, the Lady Panthers (22-11) had seven players receive a postseason honor.

Senior Katy Williams was named Co-Most Valuable Player with Campbell junior Jessica Barker, while Defensive Player of the Year was given to North Hopkins junior Ebbonye Johnson. Other superlative honors went to Boles sophomore Sarah Duran as Offensive Player of the Year, Fruitvale freshman Brittany Hodges as Newcomer of the Year, and Campbell's Steve Guffey and Menke as Co-Coaches of the Year. 

North Hopkins had five other girls receive recognition as senior Nancy Castro and sophomore Jessi Mannis received First Team honors, junior Sabra Thomas and senior Elizabeth McPherson were named to the Second Team and sophomore Cayla Newkirk was named honorable Mention.

Cumby had five selections to the team as senior Mary Ugalde was awarded  First Team, teammates Scarlett Tarno and Karen Lacey were named Second Team, and senior Kasidy Huddleston and freshman Lindsey Lemon were named Honorable Mention.

Below is the list of the District 19A All-District:

Co-MVP - Katy Williams, Sr., North Hopkins; Jessica Barker, Jr., Campbell.

Offensive Player of the Year - Sarah Duran, Soph., Boles.

Defensive Player of the Year - Ebbonye Johnson, Jr., North Hopkins.

Newcomer of the Year - Brittany Hodges, Fr., Fruitvale.

Co-Coaches of the Year - Steve Guffey, Campbell; Tim Menke, North Hopkins.

First Team All-District - Katie Ross, Soph., Campbell; Kim Travis, Sr., Campbell; Nancy Castro, Sr., North Hopkins; Jessi Mannis, Soph., North Hopkins; Crystal Collard, Sr., Boles; Mary Ugalde, Sr., Cumby; Felicia Stone, Sr., Fruitvale.

Second Team All-District - Scarlett Tarno, Soph., Cumby; Sabra Thomas, Jr., North Hopkins; Elizabeth McPherson, Sr., North Hopkins; Bayli Hartford, Jr., Boles; Karen Lacey, Sr., Cumby; Ashley Edwards, Sr., Fruitvale; Erin Lane, Soph., Fruitvale; Brittany Haas, Soph., Campbell; Kelly Ross, Soph., Campbell.

Honorable Mention - Cayla Newkirk, Soph., North Hopkins; Kasie Furstenwerth, Jr., Campbell; Brittany Duplechan, Jr., Campbell; Helen Williams, Fr., Campbell; Sara Benton, Soph., Boles; Ayle Adams, Jr., Fruitvale; Chelsea Morris, Soph., Fruitvale; Kasidy Huddleston, Sr., Cumby; Lindsey Lemon, Fr., Cumby.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008