CPHS places six players on District 17-2A All-District team
Joseph Elerson | News-Telegram Sports Writer

Nov. 25, 2005 - COMO - With seven selections on the First and Second Teams on the All-District 17-2A squad, the Como-Pickton Eagles were recognized this week for their individual efforts following a 3-7 season.

Senior running back Ray Hayden was Como-Pickton's only First Team selection after rushing for 1,605 yards and 23 touchdowns in eight games this season.

Hayden also holds the school's single-game rushing record with 348 yards on 21 carries against the Rivercrest Rebels during the opening game of the year.

"I thought Ray was worthy of the superlative, but he didn't get that," said CPHS head coach Joe Ryzman. "He is athletically the best running back that we had in the district this year and his stats were every bit as good and better than anyone else's in the district."

Superlative honors were given to Caddo Mills senior quarterback Zak Bragg as the district MVP, Caddo Mills senior running back Robert Neyra as the Offensive Player of the Year, Quitman senior lineman Steven McKinley as the Offensive Lineman of the Year, Lone Oak junior Alex Bowman as the Defensive Player of the Year, Lone Oak senior Jerry Bodeker as the Defensive Lineman of the Year, Grand Saline sophomore Sam Dickerson and Caddo Mills sophomore Axel Pelt as Co-Newcomers of the Year, Grand Saline senior Tim LaPrade and Alba-Golden senior Stefan Posey as Co-Special Teams Player of the Year, and Coach and Staff of the Year went to Steve Sumrow at Caddo Mills.

For Como-Pickton, Second Team honors went to junior center Reece Caddell, sophomore tackle Wade Arnold, senior defensive end Clayton Humphrey, sophomore Noe Tellez for outside linebacker and kicker, and senior free safety Trent Vail.

Ryzman said every player that made the list was deserving of their selection and with Reece being injured all year, his was definitely earned.

"Reece was so tough that I was just proud of him that he could earn the respect of the district coaches and playing at times half of what he was capable of playing," he said.

Caddell, Arnold and Humphrey were honored for their play on the offensive or defensive line this season.

"Wade being a sophomore was quite an honor and an accomplishment for him to make the team," the coach said. "I thought Clayton was a First Team defensive end but he didn't get that. 

Ryzman said another player who was deserving of his selection was Vail, who suffered with a leg injury during the first half of the season.

"Trent got Second Team in the secondary last year ,and if he would have spent as much time preparing and working in the secondary as he did last year there is no doubt he would have been First Team this year," Ryzman said.

"With us putting Trent at quarterback this year and him having so much to learn, he really didn't have a chance to work on the defensive side of the ball."

The final selection for the Eagles was Tellez, who was recognized at both kicker and outside linebacker.

"Noe didn't get a chance to kick the field goals this year like he did last year, so I was pleased with him having an opportunity to make it on the all-district team because he is one of the best kickers in our district," the coach said. "He was much deserving of that outside linebacker selection because he is one of the most defensive savvy kids on our team."

Below is the list for the All-District team:


District MVP - Zak Bragg, Sr., Caddo Mills.

Offensive Player of the Year - Robert Neyra, Sr., Caddo Mills.

Offensive Lineman of the Year - Steven McKinley, Sr., Quitman.

Defensive Player of the Year - Alex Bowman, Jr., Lone Oak.

Defensive Lineman of the Year - Jerry Bodeker, Sr., Lone Oak.

Co-Newcomer of the Year - Sam Dickerson, So., Grand Saline, Axel Pelt, So., Caddo Mills.

Co-Special Teams Player of the Year - Tim LaPrade, Sr., Grand Saline; Stefan Posey, Sr., Alba-Golden.

Coach and Staff of the Year - Steve Sumrow and staff, Caddo Mills.

First Team Offense

Quarterback: *Blaine Moore, Jr., Lone Oak.

Running Back: *Alex Bowman, Jr., Lone Oak; Sam Buker, Sr., Edgewood; Ray Hayden, Sr., Como-Pickton.

Fullback: *Craig Gentry, Sr., Lone Oak.

Wide Receiver: *Desmond Brigham, So., Caddo Mills; *Derek Harvey, Sr., Lone Oak; *Brandon Blunt, Sr., Lone Oak; *Courtney Waters, Sr., Quitman.

Tight End: LaKeith Henson, Jr., Edgewood; Jeff Dudley, Jr., Caddo Mills.

Center: *Bryce Nations, Sr., Grand Saline; *Ryan Ayo, So., Caddo Mills.

Guard: Holden Price, Sr. ,Caddo Mills, Kinney LaPrade, Sr., Grand Saline.

Tackle: Ahmad Kelly, Jr., Quitman; Jordan Yotter, Jr., Caddo Mills.

First Team Defense

Defensive Lineman: *Holden Price, Sr., Caddo Mills; *Ahmad Kelly, Fr., Quitman; *Justin Mullins, Sr., Lone Oak; Kinney LaPrade, Sr., Grand Saline.

Defensive End: *Steven McKinley, Sr., Quitman; Daniel Henson, So., Lone Oak; Nick Allen, Sr., Caddo Mills; Donavan Brown, Jr., Grand Saline.

Inside Linebacker: Stephen Nolan, Sr., Caddo Mills; Craig Gentry, Sr., Lone Oak; Troy Carroll, Sr., Grand Saline.

Outside Linebacker: *Josh Roach, Jr., Caddo Mills; Matt Johnson, Jr., Grand Saline; Doug Carden, So., Quitman.

Cornerback: *Courtney Waters, Sr., Quitman; *Derek Harvey, Sr., Lone Oak; Jeff Dudley, Jr., Caddo Mills.

Safety: Robert Neyra, Sr., Caddo Mills; Chase Stokes, Jr., Lone Oak; Clay Aaron, Sr., Grand Saline.

Special Teams

Punter: Ryan Maxfield, Sr., Grand Saline.

Kicker: Cole Middleton, Jr., Lone Oak.

Second Team Offense

Quarterback: Troy Carroll, Sr., Grand Saline; Matt Silcox, Sr., Alba-Golden.

Running back: Stefan Posey, Sr., Alba-Golden; Doug Carden, So., Quitman; Josh Roach, Jr., Caddo Mills.

Fullback: Joe Lucas, Jr., Quitman.

Wide Receiver: Sellin Turner, Sr., Caddo Mills; Matt Johnson, Jr., Grand Saline; Tyler Jones, Jr., Lone Oak.

Tight End: Blaine Shackelford, So., Quitman; Thomas Calkins, Jr., Edgewood; Brandon Bohannon, Sr., Alba-Golden.

Center: Cole Middleton, Jr., Lone Oak; Reece Caddell, Jr., Como-Pickton.

Guard: Justin Mullins, Sr., Lone Oak; Aron Reynolds, So., Edgewood.

Tackle: Brayden Fleming, Jr., Edgewood; Daniel Henson, So., Lone Oak; Wade Arnold, So., Como-Pickton.

Second Team Defense

Defensive Lineman: Dillon Weaver, Jr., Edgewood; Ben Jenkins, Sr., Quitman; Juan Morales, Sr., Caddo Mills; Heath Hawley, Jr., Grand Saline.

Defensive End: Heath Puckett, Jr., Caddo Mills; Jordan Mann, Sr., Edgewood; Clayton Humphrey, Sr., Como-Pickton; Bryce Nations, Sr., Grand Saline.

Inside Linebacker: Joe Lucas, Jr., Quitman; Josh Owings, Sr., Edgewood; Shawn Smith, Jr., Caddo Mills.

Outside Linebacker: Noe Tellez, So., Como-Pickton; Toby Williams, Sr., Edgewood; Colten Peek, So., Quitman; Tyler Jones, Jr., Lone Oak.

Cornerback: Quentin Richardson, Jr., Quitman; Ryan Maxfield, Sr., Grand Saline; Brandan Blunt, Sr., Lone Oak; LaKeith Henson, Jr., Edgewood.

Safety: Trent Vail, Sr., Como-Pickton; D.J. Rogers, Jr., Edgewood; Chris Bennett, Jr., Quitman.

Special Teams

Punter: Steven Kent, Sr., Edgewood.

Kicker: Noe Tellez, So., Como-Pickton

* Unanimous selection

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008