Miller Grove, Yantis, and Cumby have First teamers on All-District list
From Staff Reports

May 26, 2005 - Miller Grove, Cumby and Yantis all had at least two players each make the First Team All-District 13-A softball squad in voting by the district's coaches.

Yantis had four girls on the First Team and two more on the Second Team, while Miller Grove had two on First Team and three on Second Team, and Cumby placed three girls on each squad.

For Yantis, senior Jennifer McCreight was named to the First Team infield, while teammates senior Brandy Sockham and junior Christina Bean were both outfielders. On the Second Team were junior infielder Sara Collins and sophomore outfielder Jayna Bevill.

Miller Grove junior infielder Haley Gannon and freshman Natalie Bailey were both First Team selections. On Second Team were sophomore pitcher Courtney Hoover, senior infielder BriAnne Bailey and junior outfielder Jessica Rasussen.

For Cumby, junior pitcher Kasidy Huddleston was on the First Team along with teammates freshman infielder Scarlett Tarno and junior outfielder Dani Baur. On Second Team were senior infielder Kim Herron, sophomore infielder Stephanie Baxter, and freshman outfielder Jenna Deeds.

Miller Grove placed three more girls on the Honorable Mention list: freshman Jamie Hayes and juniors Shannon Pence and Channing Horton; Yantis had two: seniors Kristen Crabtree and Kim Alexander; while Cumby had one: freshman Morgan Lott.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008