North Hopkins lands nine players on District 15-A All-District list
From Staff Reports

May 17, 2005 - North Hopkins swept through the District 15-A schedule unbeaten, and their dominance was reflected in the All-District balloting by the coaches.

North Hopkins landed five players on the superlative list and had two more on the First Team and two on Second Team.

Yantis, the district runner-up, had the Coach of the Year in Larry Tucker and landed three players on the First Team and three more on the Second Team.

Sulphur Bluff had one superlative honor as well as two First Team honorees.

North Hopkins senior Micah Walker was voted the district MVP after he batted .485 with 35 RBI during the season. His teammate, Jake Cockrum, picked up Pitcher of the Year recognition after compiling a 7-0 district record.

Offensive Player of the Year was shared by a pair of Panthers, senior Sean Wilson and junior Josh McPherson. Wilson batted .403 with five home runs in district, while McPherson hit .493 with 33 RBI and 36 runs scored during the season.

Newcomer of the Year honors were shared between North Hopkins freshman Joe Smiddy (.515 batting average, 23 RBI) and Sulphur Bluff sophomore Jonathan Andrews.

The only superlative honor that did not go to Hopkins County players was the Co-Defensive Player of the Year award, which went to Detroit sophomore Jeff Nichols and Rivercrest junior Troy Morris.

Making First Team for North Hopkins was sophomore Adrian Ramirez and sophomore Dustin Clements.

Yantis First Teamers were junior Jeremy Hurley, senior Corey Elliott, and freshman Corey Burnett.

Sulphur Bluff players on First Team were sophomore Sam Woody and sophomore Josh Danzer.

On the Second Team for North Hopkins was sophomore Jeremy Dixon and freshman Bradley Bell; for Yantis; junior Chris Thompson, senior Miles Davis and junior Colton Glenn.

MVP - Micah Walker, North Hopkins, Sr.

Pitcher of the Year - Jake Cockrum, North Hopkins, Sr.

Co-Offensive Player of the Year - Sean Wilson, North Hopkins, Sr.; Josh McPherson, North Hopkins, Jr.

Co-Defensive Player of the Year - Jeff Nichols, Detroit, So.; Troy Morris, Rivercrest, Jr.

Newcomer of the Year - Jonathan Andrews, Sulphur Bluff, So.; Joe Smiddy, North Hopkins, Fr.

Coach of the Year - Larry Tucker, Yantis


North Hopkins - Adrian Ramirez, So.; Dustin Clements, So.

Detroit - Ryan Cashion, So.

Rivercrest - Payden Franks, Sr.; Destri Nolan, So.

Yantis - Jeremy Hurley, Jr.; Corey Elliott, Sr.; Corey Burnett, Fr.

Sulphur Bluff - Sam Woody, So.; Josh Danzer, So.

Avery - Cody Booth, Sr.; Brook Lennon, Jr.


North Hopkins - Jeremy Dixon, So.; Bradley Bell, Fr.

Rivercrest - Jeremy Moore, So.; Laramie Lum, Fr.

Avery - Cody Jackson, Jr.; Justin Dyer, Jr.

Yantis - Chris Thompson, Jr.; Miles Davis, Sr.; Colton Glenn, Jr.

Detroit - Lee Phifer, Jr.; Brian Nichols, Jr.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008