Two Wildcats named to All-District basketball team
From Staff Reports

March 8, 2005 - Two Sulphur Springs Wildcats received All-District honors for their play during the season when the coaches met to make the All-District selections.

SSHS senior Rolaundo Wright was voted as First Team All-District, while senior teammate Ryan Allison was a Second Team selection.

Wright ended the district season with 13.7 points per game, 8.8 rebounds per game, one steal per game, and 0.6 assist per game, while Allison wrapped up district play with 7.8 ppg., 3.2 rpg., 2.3 steals, and 1.7 assists per district contest.

Wright had four games with double-double points and rebounds for the Wildcats this season as the starting post with those double-double games against Mount Pleasant, Texas High and Greenville.

Greenville and Mount Pleasant led the way in the All-District selections with seven members respectively this season.

The Lions had two superlative honors as senior Justin Wilkerson, a Texas Tech signee, received Most Valuable Player and coach Rusty Harden received District 12-4A Coach of the Year.

Mount Pleasant's Justin Peters was named Offensive Player of the Year, while teammate Kevin Cheatum was name the Newcomer of the Year.

Other superlative winners were Paris senior Michael Savage as Defensive Player of the Year, and Texas High sophomore Leon Harris was name Sophomore of the Year.

Below is the complete District 12-4 team:

MVP -Justin Wilkerson, senior, Greenville.

Offensive Player of the Year - Justin Peters, senior, Mount Pleasant.

Defensive Player of the Year - Michael Savage, senior, Paris.

Newcomer of the Year - Kevin Cheatum, sophomore, Mount Pleasant.

Sophomore of the Year - Leon Harris, sophomore, Texas High.

Coach of the Year - Rusty Harden, Greenville.

First Team All-District - Richard Ford, senior, North Lamar; Kenton Beal, senior, North Lamar; Steven Tucker, senior, Texas High; Rolaundo Wright, senior, Sulphur Springs; Courtney Jackson, freshman, Paris; Emerson Peoples, senior, Mount Pleasant; Courtney Walker, senior, Mount Pleasant; Marcus Franklin, senior, Mount Pleasant; Shane Henderson, senior, Greenville; Adam Marcum, senior, Greenville.

Second Team All-District - Brandon Kennemer, senior, North Lamar; Justin Williams, senior, Texas High; Ryan Allison, senior, Sulphur Springs; Geremy Robinson, senior, Paris; Bobo Twitty, junior, Paris; Mike Markovitch, senior; Mount Pleasant; Carliss Robinson, sophomore, Mount Pleasant; Chad Robinson, junior, Greenville; Craig Turner, senior, Greenville; Justin Singleton, senior, Greenville.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008