Carper named to All-State softball team by Texas Girls Coaches Association
Bobby "Butch" Burney | News-Telegram Sports Editor

June 14, 2005 - For the third consecutive year, the Sulphur Springs Lady Cats had a senior named to the All-State softball team by the Texas Girls Coaches Association.

Casey Carper, the top defensive player in District 12-4A, was named to the team in voting by the state's high school coaches.

Her senior season, Carper led the team in batting average (.362), stolen bases (25), bases on balls (17) and hits (34). A three-year starter for the Lady Cats, she was voted as the Co-Defensive Player of the Year in 12-4A.

"It shouldn't be a surprise with the season she had - an on-base percentage of almost .500, she hit above .360 and the defensive job she did," said SSHS head coach John McCullough. "She had the overall numbers of an All-State caliber player."

Infielders Maegan Bell and Melissa McSheffery, who are both playing in college, were All-State selections the previous two years. Carper will continue her career at Odessa Junior College.

"This is continuing in the line of having great players you can depend on, day-in and day-out," McCullough said.

In addition to her All-State honor, Carper was the team MVP in both softball and volleyball, and was a co-winner of the Forrest Gregg MVP award at the SSHS All-Sports Banquet.

Below are the complete All-State teams as voted on by the TGCA.

Conference 1A

Brittney Tanner, Petrolia; Kristin Hall, Port Aransas; Emilie Hobbs, Douglass; Cassi Hillin, Eula; Amanda Stockton, Sam Rayburn; Whitney Williams, Port Aransas; Sabrina Johnston, Windthorst; Rachel Davis, Winters; Tiffany Biggs, Petrolia; Shanna Shelton, Clarendon; Simone Sanders, Overton; Alix Dean, Collinsville; Lacey Lewis, Rice; Emily Wheeler, Axtell; Megan Teichman, Windthorst; Courtney Clark, Eula; Austin McCormick, Dawson; Miranda Campbell, Rivercrest; Laura Dziedzic, Clarendon; Katherine Onstott, Dawson; Shonna Wagley, Normangee; Brittaney Ross, Collinsville; Johna Derrick, Douglass; Ashley Oliver, Normangee; Katrina Mica, Flatonia; Cortney Merchant, Rivercrest; Brittney Allen, Rice; Amber Green, Winters.

Conference 2A

Kali Roberts, Coahoma; Ashley Wilburn, Harmony; Alyssa Oberle, Argyle; Lauren Scruggs, Teague; Missy Sefcik, Little River Academy; Haley Gillen, Blooming Grove; Tara Lowe, Danbury; Danbri Mitchell, Priairland; Jessica Ash, Holliday; Ashley New, Coahoma; Tara Gonzales, Natalia; Holli Cadenhead, Van Vleck; Justine Leinweber, Natalia; Catherine Snow, Troy; Sara DeStefano, Franklin; Victoria Berry, Deweyville; Linde Dellinger, Celina; Jaci Elam, Rogers; Ashley Washburn, Blooming Grove; Jenne Dixon, Prosper; Abby Talley, Celina; Stacy Hahn, Industrial; Larissa Martin, Franklin; Victoria Mendoza, Rogers; Kalee Graham, Prairiland; Caitlin Barganier, Little River Academy; Katie New, Clifton; Michelle Ege, Troy.

Conference 3A

Meagan Godwin, Bridge City; Cara Hulme, Van; Kimmy Lee, LaGrange; Cami Newsome, Columbia; Christina Jaques, Bridge City; Courtney Wright, Canton; Kayla Simpson, Needville; Casie Everitt, Splendora; Corley Call, Splendora; Lauren Secord, White Oak; Heather Garvin, Ft. Stockton; Layci Taylor, Comanche; Tedlin Nieto, Pearsall; Allison McClain, Diboll; Catherine Rodriguez, Columbia; Brandi Dalme, Van; Kayce Zielinski, Kennedale; Toni Ellis, Rockdale; Kelsey Spittler, Caldwell; Jenny Isham, Lorena; Kristin Masters, Groesbeck; Amanda Foster, Pilot Point; Rachel Boaldin, Canyon; Kathleen Pumphrey , Needville; Carly Case, Bowie.

Conference 4A

Katie Garnett, Elgin; Megan Winkelmann, Brenham; Brittany Barnhill, Justin Northwest; Heather Fortenberry, Mesquite Poteet; Hannah Becker, Calallen; Sarah Rogers, Elgin; Tiffany Dahlquist, Brenham; Tammy Kierig, Birdville; Brittany Turner, Brewer; Andrea Tellez, El Paso Burges; Casey Carper, Sulphur Springs; Erin Whitt, Lake Travis; Carter Ryan, Frisco; Krita Chesworth, Big Spring; Caroline Dietze, Calallen; Tamara Keller, Medina Valley; Ashley Hobbs, Freeport Brazosport; Amberly Waits, Cleburne; Haley Hays, Wichita Falls Rider; Jetta Weinheimer, Fredericksburg; Stephanie Zimmerman, Little Cypress-Mauriceville; Katie Campbell, Frisco; Cori Bram, El Campo; Becky Nye, McKinney North; Macy Baker, Crowley; Erin McMichael, Nacogdoches; Natalie Pendley, Waco Midway; Kalsey Sage, Waco Midway.

Conference 5A

Danielle Goff, Plano; Amanda Pitzenberger, Tomball; Kirsten Shortridge, Keller; Kaitlyn Witte, Midland Lee; Lana Armstrong, Garland; Casie Gaskin, A&M Consolidated; Amanda Parson, Lubbock Coronado; Janelle Ruiz, San Antonio Taft; Cortney Clift, Lubbock Monterey; Aly Presswood, Keller; Ryan Kos, Magnolia; Lyndsee Speakmon, Bryan; Brette Reagan, Tomball; Tallie Thrasher, Southlake Carroll; Rudi Cantu, Alvin; Shanna Dees, Odessa; Addie Freeman, Lubbock Coronado; Kim Lyons, Burleson; Rachel Mitchell, LaPorte; Lisa Paul, Brazoswood; Danyel Buwinkel, Plano; Brittany Cuevas, Brazoswood; Ashley Lail, Fort Worth Paschal; Megan Mikeska, Magnolia; Macie Morrow, Clements; Kara Stevens, San Antonio Churchill.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008