Four Wildcats named All-Region in football
From Staff Reports

Jan. 11, 2005 -- Four Sulphur Springs football players received more postseason honors this week as the TexasPrepXtra website released its All-Region teams.

TexasPrepXtra runs a weekly state and regional poll during the football season. In voting its All-East Texas team, players were named from all classifications.

Sulphur Springs players named to the honorary squad were junior left tackle Jose Vargas and senior free safety Keenan Clayton to the First Team, and senior wide receiver Rolaundo Wright and senior left guard Chris Berry to the Second Team.

All four were named to the District 12-4A First Team, with Clayton being voted Co-MVP of the District. He was also named First Team All-State by the Associated Press Sports Editors.

Gilmer senior quarterback Manuel Johnson, an Oklahoma recruit, was a unanimous choice for All-ET Player of the Year after leading the Buckeyes to the Class 3A, Division II state championship.

Offensive MVP was Kilgore's Keith Gilliam and Defensive MVP was Gilmer's Daniel Dodd.

Area players named to the team included Cooper's Daniel Nichols at First Team wide receiver.

Below is a list of players on the All-Region team:

Player of the Year - *Manuel Johnson, Gilmer

Offensive MVP - Keith Gilliam, Kilgore

MVP - Daniel Dodd, Gilmer


First Team

QB - *Stephen Hodge, Tatum.

RB - *Jackie Robinson, Marshall; Karlidaris Beechum, Carthage; Jessie Harrison, Paul Pewitt.

TE - Jermichael Finley, Diboll.

WR - Montrell Pennington, Center; Tay Bowser, Gilmer; Daniel Nichols, Cooper; Junior Osborne, Marshall.

OL - Cody Lusk, Jacksonville; Roy Burks, Texas High; Jacob Harris, Texas High; Jose Vargas, Sulphur Springs; Brandon Carter, Longview Spring Hill.

K - Kyle Pope, Longview Spring Hill.

Second Team

(Area players only)

RB - Broderick Franklin, North Lamar.

WR - Rolaundo Wright, Sulphur Springs.

OL - Robbie Junior, Texas High; Chris Berry, Sulphur Springs.

K - Cole Jones, Greenville.


First Team

DL - Isiah Thompson, Tatum; Chris Brown, Texas High; *Eddie Jones, Kilgore; Jake Holladay, Gilmer.

LB - David Shields, Center; Dustin Earnest, Texas High; Ronald Brown, Palestine; *Roddrick Muckleroy, Hallsville.

DB - Keenan Clayton, Sulphur Springs; Nick Sanders, Kilgore; Jeffrey Meadows, Texas High; Jeremy Skinner, Gilmer.

P - Will Middlebrooks, Liberty-Eylau.

Second Team

(Area players only)

DL - Johnell White, Texas High.

DB - Chaise Mooty, Texas High.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008