Six North Hopkins Lady Panthers receive All-District awards
From Staff Reports

Dec. 2, 2005 - After sweeping through the District 19-A volleyball schedule, the North Hopkins Lady Panthers were rewarded on the All-District team released this week.

Four Lady Panthers earned superlative honors and two more were on the First Team.

Miller Grove also had a superlative honoree as well as a First Team member, and both Yantis and Cumby had two on the First Team.

North Hopkins senior Katy Williams, the team's leader in kills, was named the District's Most Valuable Player, while the Offensive Player of the Year was North Hopkins senior outside hitter Tashona Berry and the Defensive Player of the Year was North Hopkins senior libero Ashley Wilson. North Hopkins senior Maegan Baxter was named Setter of the Year, while coach Danna Lewis won the coaching award.

Miller Grove freshman Rebecca George was tabbed as the district's Newcomer of the Year.

On the First Team, North Hopkins junior Ebbonye Johnson and senior Ashley Hooten were selected, as well as Miller Grove sophomore Natalie Bailey, Cumby senior Mary Ugalde and sophomore Scarlett Tarno, and Yantis junior Jayna Bevill and senior Esther Fernandez. Fruitvales' Felicia Stone was the other First Team honoree.

On the Second Team were Miller Grove senior Callie Smith and sophomore Adrian Estrada, Yantis senior Starla Burchfield and sophomore Issy Reyna, Cumby junior Karen Lacey, and North Hopkins junior Holly Argenbright. They were joined by Boles sophomore Sarah Duran and a trio of Fruitvale players: Ashley Edwards, Erin Lane and Brittany Hodges.

Honorable Mention went to Yantis sophomore Jamie Gilliland, Miller Grove senior Hayli Gannon and sophomore Amanda Sims, Cumby seniors Erin Templeton and Ashley Heer, and North Hopkins juniors Sabra Thomas and Kaylee Cotton.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008