Sibling Revelry
Cumby sisters, Miller Grove brothers all earn superlative honors

From Staff Reports

May 21, 2004 -- Cumby's Huddleston sisters and Miller Grove's Weaver brothers were all big hits with the coaches of their respective softball and baseball districts.

Each of the siblings earned superlative honors in the All-District voting by the coaches.

In 12-1A softball, sophomore pitcher Kasidy Huddleston was named Co-Offensive Player of the Year, while her big sister and battery mate was the Defensive Player of the Year.

In 14-1A baseball, junior pitcher Frank Weaver was crowned the Defensive Player of the Year, while his younger brother, James Weaver, was the Newcomer of the Year.

Miller Grove, Cumby and Yantis all had several players earn All-District honors.

In 12-1A, Miller Grove freshman Courtney Hoover was the Newcomer of the Year, while teammate Sarah Sheer was voted to First Team infield, Christina Daughtery and Hailey Gannon were Second Team infielders, and Bri Ann Bailey and Leslie Wagley were Second Team outfielders.

Yantis junior Jennifer McCreight was named to the First Team infield, while sophomore teammates Sarah Collins and Christina Bean were both Second Team infielders, and junior Brandi Stockam was a Second Team outfielder.

Other Cumby players recognized included sophomore infielder Kacie Wade and junior outfielder Megan Strickland on the First Team, freshman infielder Stefany Baxter, junior infielder Christina Chambliss, and sophomore outfielder Karen Lacey on the Second Team.

In 14-1A baseball, Cumby senior pitcher/first baseman Mika Robertson was deemed the Offensive Player of the Year, while his coach Scott Mabe was Co-Coach of the Year.

Cumby senior pitcher Justin Taylor, senior catcher Chris Romans, sophomore infielder Jake Petty, junior outfielder Matt Steward, and freshman utility player Jeffrey Smith were all First Team selections. On the Second Team were senior infielder John Bendall and senior outfielders Brandon Brown and Todd Higginbotham. Steven Boss was honorable mention.

Other Miller Grove players earning honors included senior infielder Lee Roy Stracener and junior outfielder Randy Rainey on the First Team, and senior outfielder Brandon Stunkard on the Second Team.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008