North Hopkins' James named Co-MVP of 19-1A
From Staff Reports

Feb. 27, 2004 -- Michael James of North Hopkins and Josh Ferguson of Campbell, the top players on the top two teams in District 19-1A, were named the Most Valuable Players of the district in voting by coaches this week.

James, a senior, and Ferguson, a junior, were joined in the superlative list by Fruitvale senior Mark Lamer as the Offensive Player of the Year, Boles junior Josh Conder as the Defensive Player of the Year, and Cumby sophomore William Chavez as the Newcomer of the Year.

North Hopkins and Campbell tied for the 19-1A championship and both were well-represented on the All-District team.

NH senior William Johnson was a unanimous pick on First Team, while senior Jake Mannis also was a First Team selection. Junior Kevin Campbell and sophomore Cory Johnson were Second Team picks, and junior Zack Horne was an Honorable Mention selection.

Joining Chavez from Cumby were seniors Mika Robertson and John Bendall on the Second Team, junior Matt Steward and senior Todd Higginbotham as Honorable Mention.

Yantis was represented by junior Colby Ogle on the First Team, junior Corey Elliott on the Second Team, junior Miles Davis and senior Daniel Brown as Honorable Mention.

The complete list is below:

District 19-1A, Division I All-District

Most Valuable Player

Michael James, senior, North Hopkins

Josh Ferguson, junior, Campbell

Offensive Player of the Year

Mark Larmer, senior, Fruitvale

Defensive Player of the Year

Josh Conder, junior, Boles

Newcomer of the Year

William Chavez, sophomore, Cumby

First Team

*Ryan Glover, senior, Boles; *William Johnson, senior, North Hopkins; Jake Mannis, senior, North Hopkins; *Jerad Kinnaird, senior, Campbell; Kelsey Grammer, sophomore, Campbell; Colby Ogle, junior, Yantis.

Second Team

Mika Robertson, senior, Cumby; Josh Self, senior, Fruitvale; Corey Elliott, junior, Yantis; John Bendall, senior, Cumby; Kevin Campbell, junior, North Hopkins; Cory Johnson, sophomore, North Hopkins; Don Trapp, senior, Campbell; Aaron Cleveland, sophomore, Boles.

Honorable Mention

Marcus Walton, senior, Boles; Matt Steward, junior, Cumby; Justin Burden, freshman, Campbell; Daniel Brown, senior, Yantis; Miles Davis, junior, Yantis; Zack Horne, junior, North Hopkins; Mitchell Lewis, junior, Fruitvale; Brandon Bing, freshman, Boles; Todd Higginbotham, senior, Cumby.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008