Weir, Williams share 19-1A MVP honors
From Staff Reports

Feb. 27, 2004 -- After dominating on the basketball court this year, the North Hopkins Lady Panthers were rewarded in the All-District 19-1A, Div. I team, selected by the district's coaches.

Campbell, the district runner-up, was also well-represented on the team, which included players from Cumby and Yantis.

Four players from North Hopkins, which finished the season with a 31-4 record, were honored in the superlative list.

Sophomore post Katy Williams and junior guard Sara Weir shared the district MVP honors. Weir led the team in scoring with more than 500 points this season, while Williams was the team's top rebounder and second-leading scorer.

Their senior teammate Mary Casey, a four-year starter, was the Defensive Player of the Year, while freshman Ebbonye Johnson was the Newcomer of the Year.

Campbell senior Barry Sylvia was the 19-1A Offensive Player of the Year.

Also for North Hopkins, seniors Hope Harber and Lindsey Horne were First Team All-District, senior Amy Akerhielm was Second Team, and freshman Chancey Harber was Honorable Mention.

Cumby had two players on the A-D team, as sophomore Kasey Wade was First Team and senior Katy Huddleston was Second Team.

Yantis sophomore Sarah Collins was a First Team selection.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008