Four Wildcats honored on TSWA All-State team
From Staff and Wire Reports

Feb. 6, 2004 -- After an eight-win season and a playoff berth, four Sulphur Springs players were honored by the Texas Sports Writers Association Thursday with the release of the TSWA Class 4A All-State football team.

Record-setting senior wide receiver Kendall Wright and junior punt returner Keenan Clayton were both Third Team selections, while senior Jordan Jones, the defensive MVP of the district, and 2,400-yard passer Ryan Henry were both named Honorable Mention.

Wright holds virtually all of the single-season and single-game receiving records in SSHS history after catching 72 passes for 1,010 yards and nine touchdowns. He caught a school-record 13 passes against Paris and set another mark with 224 yards receiving against Sherman.

Clayton, who ended the year as the starter on offense and defense, could have been All-State on either side of the ball and was voted to the team for his return prowess. He set a school record with three punt returns for touchdowns and averged 16.4 yards on 23 returns. He also accounted for about 900 yards receiving and rushing.

As a two-year starter at quarterback, Henry owns virtually every passing record in SSHS annals. In his senior season, he completed 181-of-278 passes for 2,417 yards and 19 TDs. He ran for two more scores.

Jones was second on the team in tackles with 51 while playing noseguard, and was named Defensive MVP of District 11-4A. He added three sacks and nine tackles for losses.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008