Harper named Co-MVP of District 14-2A
From Staff Reports

April 8, 2004 -- Charlot Harper, who signed Thursday to play basketball at Panola College, was named Co-MVP of District 14-2A in recent voting by the district's coaches.

She shared the honor with Edgewood senior Ebony Rogers.

The Lady Eagles, who finished third in the district, had a pair of First Team selections and two more players on the Second Team.

Making First Team were seniors Christy Hunt and Brittney Wright, while senior Rhandi Johnson and junior Kelli Harmon were Second Team picks. Sophomore Nicole Dulude and junior Elizabeth Melton were both Honorable Mention.

Co-Most Valuable Player: Charlot Harper, senior, Como-Pickton; Ebony Rogers, senior, Edgewood.

Co-Offensive Player: Emily McFarlin, junior, Grand Saline; Amanda Potts, junior, Alba-Golden.

Newcomer of the Year: Shadawndra McNeal, freshman, Quitman.

Defensive Player: Brenna Buker, sophomore, Edgewood.

Coach of the Year: Joe Buker, Edgewood.

First Team

Christy Hunt, senior, Como-Pickton; Brittney Wright, senior, Como-Pickton; Kandy Kelly, senior, Caddo Mills; Randi Walton, senior, Alba-Golden; Cassie Tull, senior, Edgewood; Cassi Prestidge, senior, Scurry-Rosser; Alyson Shavers, sophomore, Scurry-Rosser; Elizabeth Feagin, sophomore, Lone Oak; Lucy Countryman, junior, Grand Saline; Ashton Wells, junior, Quitman; Tanisha Everett, junior, Quitman.

Second Team

Rhandi Johnson, senior, Como-Pickton; Kelli Harmon, junior, Como-Pickton; Heather Massie, junior, Alba-Golden; Jamie Joyce, sophomore, Grand Saline; Catie Smith, sophomore, Quitman; Kara Norman, sophomore, Scurry-Rosser; Britni Bell, sophomore, Edgewood; Lindsay Pickens, sophomore, Edgewood; Nicole Finch, freshman, Caddo Mills; Candace Stokes, freshman, Lone Oak.

Honorable Mention

Nicole Dulude, junior, Como-Pickton; Elizabeth Melton, sophomore, Como-Pickton; Lauren Bellamy, senior, Alba-Golden; Christina George, senior, Alba-Golden; Lindsey Lutonsky, senior, Quitman; Amanda Vick, senior, Quitman; Tana Norman, senior, Scurry-Rosser; Holly Mitchell, junior, Scurry-Rosser; Laura Romero, senior, Grand Saline; Courtney Dickerson, sophomore, Grand Saline; Morgan Wade, junior, Caddo Mills; Jessie Ehlinger, junior, Lone Oak; Sarah Gantt, sophomore, Lone Oak; Meagan Foster, sophomore, Edgewood.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008