Voters choose school board members in 4 rural districts

By FAITH HUFFMAN, News-Telegram News Editor

May 12, 2008 - Election results at four local school districts are in, pending canvassing of the vote during board meetings later this week.

Elections were held Saturday at each of the local districts required to hold voting.

Sulphur Springs ISD was not required to hold an election, as incumbents Jackie Brice and Jack Chubb drew no challengers. Both will continue to serve another three years on the school board. This will mark Brice's third term and Chubb's second. The oath of office will again be administered to both candidates during tonight's 6 p.m. board meeting in the board room of the Administration Building, 631 Connally St.


In Como-Pickton, Jim Murray and Shawn Carpenter defeated opponents Brad Carr, Danny Cooksey and Art Foster for the two full-term seats on that school board. Murray received 99 votes, Carpenter 83, Carr 77, Cooksey 63 and Foster 41. Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District's Board of Trustees will canvass the vote, administer the oath of office to the new board members and organize officers during Wednesday night's regular board meeting, which begins at 7 p.m. in the high school library.


The unofficial vote at Cumby Independent School District shows incumbent David Barrow and challengers Keith Newsome and Jeff Kinsey defeating incumbent Renee Seely and Stephanie Freeman for the three-full term seats on the school board. Barrow received 96 votes, Newsome 90 and Kinsey 83. Seely came in close behind Kinsey with 80, and Freeman trailed with 43. Cumby ISD's board is slated to canvass the vote during a meeting Thursday night at the school.

North Hopkins

North Hopkins voters selected David James and Brent McQueen to serve three years each on that school board. James and McQueen defeated Sherry Ferrell, with each receiving 73 votes to Ferrell's 47 votes.


Of the four candidates seeking election to Yantis ISD's board, Dwayne Attaway and Jason Burchfield were selected to serve in the two full-term positions by voters in Saturday's election. Attaway garnered 141 votes and Burchfield 95 compared to Karen Dodge, who received 31, and Kathy Lennon's 35 votes. Votes in that election will be canvassed during a 6:30 p.m. board meeting Wednesday night.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008