Contested races emerge in at least two local school districts

By FAITH HUFFMAN, News-Telegram News Editor

March 12, 2008 - Neither the Sulphur Springs nor Cumby school districts should have to hold school board elections this year, but contested races are expected in at least two Hopkins County districts.

Como-Pickton and Yantis had contested trustees races at the end of filing Monday, whileCumby and Sulphur Springs had only as many file as seats available. Under current Texas law, if there are no contested races, a school district does not have to incur the cost of holding an election and can simply declare the unopposed candidates elected.

Sulphur Springs

Sulphur Springs ISD is not expected to require a trustees election this year. Incumbents Jacqueline "Jackie" Brice and Jack Chubb drew no challengers, and thus no election will be required and both will continue to serve another three years on Sulphur Springs' school board. In May, Brice will begin her third term on the board and Chubb his second.


Cumby Independent School District is not expected to require an election. They had three candidates file for the three full term seats up this year.

Incumbents David Barrow and Renee Seely will serve another term on Cumby's board. Barrow has been on CISD's board since 1999. In May, he will begin his 10th year of service. Seely was elected to Cumby school board in 2005 and will begin her second term in May, according to CISD administration officials.

Keith Newsome filed for the third place on Cumby's board. Newsome, who has served perviously on the board, will fill the seat currently held by Lou Ann Petty who opted not to seek reelection.


Como-Pickton voters will choose two of the five candidates who signed up to serve three-year terms on Como-Pickton's board. Neither of the two incumbents filed for re-election.

On the ballot will be Brad Carr, Danny Cooksey, Shawn Carpenter, Jim Murray and Art Foster. The two candidates receiving the most votes will be elected to the board.

While no incumbents filed, Carr had previously served on the board until 2007.

Early voting for both Como-Pickton school and Como city elections will be conducted April 28-May 6 in C-P CISD business office from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., and the joint election will be held Saturday, May 10, from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in Como-Pickton school cafeteria.


Five candidates will vie for two full-term seats on Yantis' school board in May. The seats are currently held by Corey Ogle and Perry Shirley; neither is seeking re-election.

The three-year seats will go to the two candidates receiving the most votes in the May 10 election. Voters will be asked to choose two of the following: Kathy Pruden Lennon, Arlan Jaeger, Karen Dodge, Dwayne Attaway and Jason Burchfield.

Early voting will be conducted April 28-May 6 during regular business hours in Yantis school cafeteria. On Saturday, May 10, voters may cast ballots for their choice between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. in the lobby of the Imogene Glenn building.

North Hopkins

North Hopkins Independent School District had at least two seats up for election on its board. However, school is out this week for spring break, thus school officials could not be reached regarding filings in that election. Kevin Melton, Jimmy Don Goldsmith and Ricky Glossup all filed in 2005 for re-election, and by default were selected to serve three additional years on the board; they were unchallenged. While Glossup is no longer on the board, Melton currently serves as the president and Goldsmith as vice president of the board.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008