Megan Stewart (left), who is directing one of the children's shows, "A Dragon in the Mix," that is part of the Community Players' 2008 Children's Theatre Workshop, also serves as head make-up artist as she "green-ifies" the dragon of her show, Andy Green, 11 (right).
Staff Photo By Sarah Yosten

Fairy tales coming to life at Main St. Theatre

August offers two opportunities to see live theater

By TERRY MATHEWS,News-Telegram Arts Editor

July 30, 2008 - The Community Players and Main Street Theatre?are offering two chances to see a live production in the month of August.

The annual Children's Workshop will present two shows, "Nick Tickle, Fairytale Detective," directed by Meagan Stewart, and "A Dragon in the Mix," directed by Andrea France, which will run Thursday, July 31, Friday, Aug. 1 and Saturday, Aug. 2 and then again the following week on Thursday, Aug. 7, Friday, Aug. 8 and Saturday, Aug. 9. Steve Janway is the workshop director. Both plays are rated G for general audiences. All performances are at 8 p.m. Admission is $8, and reservations are recommended.

The group's second production is "An Evening of One Acts." The two plays presented will be "Brilliant Traces," directed by Stan Shipp, and "The Actor's Nightmare," directed by Jackie Martin. Both plays are rated G for general audiences.

These fairies look innocent, but their mischievous meddling causes a commotion in "A Dragon in the Mix." Pictured (left to right) are "Gossip" (Jade Ausbrooks), "Hearsay" (Kayleen Collins), "Innuendo" (Madison Rater) and "Rumor" (Laura Graham).
Staff Photo By Sarah Yosten

The one acts open Thursday, Aug. 14 and run Friday, Aug. 15 and Saturday, Aug. 16 and again the following week on Thursday, Aug. 21, Friday, Aug. 22 and Saturday, Aug. 22. All performances are at 8 p.m. Admission is $8 and reservations are recommended.

"The Community Players are proud to bring quality live theatre to the residents in and around Sulphur Springs and the Hopkins County area," said Tammy Vinson, the group's publicist. ?

Call 903-885-0107 for reservations or more information.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008