Sulphur Springs BPA students advance to state

Jan. 23, 2008 - Sixteen of the 29 Business Professionals of America students from Sulphur Springs High School who competed in the Area I Region III Leadership Contest and Conference Saturday, Jan. 19, at Sachse High School ranked high enough to advance to the state BPA meet.

Students earning first place honors for individual accomplishments included Cole Cable as presentation management individual; Sarah Fox, spread sheet application and analysis; Justin Brown, computer security concepts; Alyssa Post, digital media production; Michelle Malone, legal office procedures; Colleen Lucky, medical office procedures; and Phebe Rutledge, administrative support research project individual.

Second place honors went to Dillon Smith, digital media production; Colton Newkirk, banking and finance; Bonnie Grafton, medical office procedures; and Whitney Hu, entrepreneurship.

The presentation management team consisting of Brandon Harry, Whitney Hu and Sam Long also were awarded second place team honors.

Students placing third included Chelsea Tiegiser, integrated office applications; Sam Pierce, Jave programming; and Dakota Graham, database applications.

All first, second and third place finishers advance to the Business Professionals of America Leadership State Conference and Competition in Dallas, scheduled for March 5-8.

In other results, Alyssa Meeham was recognized for placing fourth in human resource management, as was Victor Gonzelez for his interview skills. Taylor Clifton, Jimmy Helfferich, Brendan Killan and Chelsea Tiegiser were also ranked the fourth place administrative support team.

Students placing fifth included Melissa Ream, C++ programming; Jordan Owens, fundamentals of word processing; and Taylor Clifton, graphic design promotion. The video production team consisting of Victor Gonzalez, Jordan Owens, Heath Robinson and Dillon Smith also was ranked fifth.

Placing sixth were Ryan Clark in computerized accounting and Heath Robinson for PC servicing and troubleshooting.

Three others were also recognized during the area contest. Brandon Harry was elected Regional President and Jimmy Helfferich received a $500 scholarship from Area I Region III BPA. Harry and Helfferich, along with Dillon Smith, also received the Torch Award.

- Information submitted by Brenda McKinzie, Career and Technology Education, Business teacher

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008