Mayor, City Councilman to be honored Aug. 30

African American Leadership Conference also plans event to recognize mothers on Sept. 13

From Staff Reports

August 20, 2008 - The Hopkins County African American Leadership Conference has two events slated in the coming weeks to honor two elected officials and dozens of mothers.

The first event will be a reception Saturday, Aug. 30, honoring Sulphur Springs City Councilman Freddie Taylor and Mayor Oscar Aguilar for their accomplishments. Aguilar is the city's first Hispanic mayor, while Taylor was selected to serve as president of Texas Association of Mayors, Council-members and Commissioners, an affiliate of Texas Municipal League.

The reception for Aguilar and Taylor will be from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in the boardroom at Sulphur Springs Airport.

"We are proud and honored to have these two distinguished individuals representing our city," Dr. M. LaVelle Hendricks notes. "Please come by and congratulate them and their families."

HCAALC will also be hosting the 2nd Annual Professor John Crook and Mark Wayne Johnson Choice of Excellence Awards Ceremony. The program is designed to "reward the Godly mothers in our community."

The guest speaker will be Sarah Mack, retired principal from New Orleans, La. Mack is also a writer for national publications.

Among this year's Choice of Excellence Awards honorees are Margaret Sanders, Ramona Henson, Silvesta Alexander Rowena Johnson, Ophelia Evans, Delane Gatlin Anita Godbolt, Rita Taylor, Christene Askew Lucy Phifer, Ann Stribling, Debra Davis, Clarine Moore, Felecia Taylor, Kristi Brewer Delores Miller, Lestene Sewell, Cathleeen Johnson Willie Harris, Cassie Clayton, Tammy Wright Robbie Newsom, Amy Goldsmith, Lillian Washington Gloria Franklin, Bobbie Roland, Mary Porter Sue Ross, Chereasha Godbolt and Demetra Robinson.

The ceremony and program begins at 6 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 13, at Cypress District Association Building, 400 Como St.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008