Dozens to be honored with education awards

From Staff Reports

Nov 26, 2007 - The African American Leadership Conference will present dozens of awards to teachers and other supporters of education in Hopkins County at Saturday's Silvesta Alexander Teacher Appreciate Awards Ceremony.

The awards ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. Saturday at the Cypress District Building, located at 400 Como St.

"As many of you know, Silvesta Alexander has one of the longest serving tenures as a teacher within the Hopkins County school district," wrote M. LaVelle Hendricks, a member of the event steering committee, in a letter announcing the program. "She has changed many lives over the years through the power of education."

Those scheduled to be recognized include:

Excellence in Teaching Award: Anita Godbolt, Ruanne Horton, Amy Harden, Holly Thompson, Tawnette Ramsey, Senor Magon, Evelyn Kattes, Jill Sapaugh, Beth Shurtlett, Greg Owens, Lawson Crook, Kim Irby, Julie Silman and Deanna Spraggins.

Pioneers of Education Award: Dorothy Jo Thomas, Jimmie Harrison, Grace Jane Teetes, Gyeula Watson, John Turner, John E. Crook, Tommy Watson, Rosa Rutherford, Dorothy Bell Alexander, Judy Tipping, Wayne Galyean, Wanda Galyean and Marya Estes.

Friends of Education Award: Patsy and Coy Johnson, Barbara and Mickey McKenzie, Bill Bradford, Judy Gilreath, Billie and Jack Newsom.

Principal of the Year: Rowena Johnson, principal of Lamar Elementary School.

School of the Year: Bowie Elemenary School.

Superintendent of the Year: Ricky Beadles, superintendent of Sulphur Bluff ISD.

Former Sulphur Springs ISD Superintendent Paul Glover is the keynote speaker for the event, which is open to the public. There is no charge for admission, and free food will be served after the program. 

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008