Taylor, Spraggins win City Council elections

Clay Johnson joins incumbents Williams, Thomas on SSISD board

By BRUCE ALSOBROOK | News-Telegram Managing Editor

May 14, 2007 - Several incumbents won a return to office in Saturday's city and school elections, while a constitutional amendment to give a little tax relief to elderly and disabled property owners passed overwhelmingly.

In the Sulphur Springs City Council race, incumbent Place 4 Councilman Freddie Taylor won a second term in office with 65 percent of the vote, defeating challenger Ronny Blount, 483-256.

Gary Spraggins won the race for the Place 5 seat with just over 80 percent of the vote, easily outdistancing Pat Murray by a count of 520-126.

Spraggins takes the seat vacated by Larry Powers, who decided not to seek another term after serving 12 years on the panel.

In the Sulphur Springs Independent School District race, the two incumbents who sought re-election will be joined on the board by a newcomer to the school board. With three positions up for grabs, local attorney Clay Johnson, seeking his first term, was the leading vote-getter with 769 ballots cast in his favor. He was followed by incumbents Foy Williams with 631 votes and Carolyn Malone Thomas with 610. The other challenger, Charles "Mike" Nordin, pulled in 340 votes.

Four rural school districts also held elections Saturday.

Como-Pickton CISD

Only one of three incumbents won re-election in Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District's school board election.

Three seats were up for grabs at Como-Pickton. Incumbent Gerald Walters led all candidates with 127 votes, followed by challengers Tom Hendricks with 113 and Mike Mundt with 86. A third challenger, Sherrie France, was a close fourth with 78 votes. The other two incumbents, Abbie Wright and Brad Carr, received 76 and 72 votes, respectively.

Cumby ISD

At Cumby, the two incumbents won re-election for the two seats on the ballot. Jason Hudson took the most votes with 126, followed by Jody Jarvis with 105. The lone challenger, Samuel Gomez, lost out with 58 votes.

North Hopkins ISD

At North Hopkins ISD, RaDona Wright Adams, Lori Ferrell Timko and incumbent Edgar Clemens were elected to the board. Timko led all candidates with 78 votes, followed by Clemens with 72 and Adams with 69.

Two incumbents failed in their bids to return to office. Brent McQueen took 55 votes, while Ricky Glosup had 53 votes. Another challenger, Randy Harris, received 11 votes.

Yantis ISD

The incumbent running for re-election at Yantis ISD took the most votes in races for two three-year terms, and two others were elected to fill unexpired terms.

Incumbent Bo West won his re-election bid for a full term with 146 votes, and will be joined on the boad next year by Mike Kenney, who garnered 142 votes.

Four others ran but were unsuccesful: Tommy Davis (123 votes), Amber Burnett (116), Karen Dodgen (83) and Nathan Crist (17).

In the race to fill a one-year unexpired term, Corey Ogle took 180 votes for the win, followed by Arlan Jaeger with 145 and Kristina Shoemaker with 19.

In the run to fill a two-year unexpired term, Ron McKinney took 187 votes to Betty Caudle's 147.

Constitutional amendment

A constitutional amendment to fix a mistake in the school property tax code that left elderly and disabled property owners out of the tax relief bill passed by the last Texas Legislature was overwhelmingly approved.

The amendment passed locally by a count of 1,075 to 30. Statewide, 87.7 percent of voters approved passage of the amendment.

Voter turnout for amendment election was 5.08 percent in county and 7.07 percent statewide.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008