5 school districts to hold May trustee elections

By FAITH HUFFMAN | News-Telegram News Editor

Mar. 13, 2007 - Five local school districts will be required to hold an election on May 12 due to contested races, school board elections officials reported at the close of filing Monday.

Voters will determine who serves as trustees for Sulphur Springs, Cumby, Como-Pickton, North Hopkins and Yantis in the May election. The schools each had at least one more person file than openings, forcing an election. 

At Como-Pickton, incumbents Brad Carr, Gerald Walters and Abbie Wright are challenged by Tom Hendricks, a market manager at Brookshire’s; Mike Mundt, dairyman and milk truck company operator; and Sherrie France, an operations manager. The three candidates receiving the most votes in the May 12 election will be named the new trustees.

In Cumby, three candidates will vie for two full-term seats on that board. Incumbents Jody Jarvis, a manager at Pilgrim’s, and Jason Hudson, a teacher at Mesquite ISD, are challenged by Samuel Gomez, a powerline supervisor. The two candidates receiving the most votes will be awarded the three-year seats.

North Hopkins’ ballot will include six candidates, for the three full term positions. Incumbents Brent McQueen, Ricky Glosup and Edgar Clemens are challenged by Randy Harris, RaDona Adams and Lori Ferrell Timko. The three candidates receiving the most votes will each be awarded a three-year spot on North Hopkins Independent School District’s board of trustees.

In Sulphur Springs, four people vie for three full-term spots on its board. Incumbents Carolyn Malone Thomas and Foy Williams are challenged by Clay Johnson, a local attorney, and Charles “Mike” Nordin, who is self-employed and is a lifelong Hopkins County resident. The seats will go to the three candidates receiving the most votes. Norman Ray Sanders Jr., who currently serves in the third seat, opted not to seek reelection to Sulphur Springs Independent School District’s board of trustees.

Yantis has the most highly contested races. They have four spots — one for a one-year term, one for a two-year term and two for three-year terms.  For the one-year unexpired seat currently held by Nicole Burchfield, voters will choose from three candidates — Arlan Jaeger, Kristina Shoemaker and Corey Ogle. Two candidates — Ron McKinney and Betty Caudle  — have filed for the two-year unexpired term left open with Gary Long’s recent resignation. Voters will choose two of the six candidates — Amber Burnett, Mike Kenney, Bo West, Karen Dodgen, Tommy Davis and Nathan Crist — running for two three-year seats, currently held by Jaeger and West. The candidate receiving the top vote for the one-year, top for the two-year and top two for the three-year seats will win the elections.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008