Council races contested

By FAITH HUFFMAN | News-Telegram News Editor

Mar. 13, 2007 - Both places on Sulphur Springs City Council are contested on the May 12 ballot. Only four signed up overall for the places, two per place, with no new filings on Monday, the last day for filing.

The drawing to determine the order in which the names will appear on the ballot was held. Incumbent Freddie Taylor, who is currently serving as mayor, will be first on the ballot for Place 4 with challenger Ronald J. Blount second. Pat Murray’s name will appear first on the Place 5 ballot, and candidate Gary Spraggins’ name will follow. Larry Powers, who currently holds the Place 5 seat,  opted not to file for reelection.

Early voting by personal appearance in the city council election will be conducted weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. April 30 through May 8. Also, as mandated by House Bill 2309 of the 79th legislature, the polls will also be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Thursday, May 3 and Monday, May 7. All early voting for Sulphur Springs City Council will be conducted in the Municipal Building, 125 South Davis St.

Applications for ballot by mail should be mailed to Gale Roberts, 125 S. Davis Street, Sulphur Springs, TX 75482. Today is the first day mail applications will be taken. They must be received  no later than May 4.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008