Filing for city council, school elections ends Monday

From Staff Reports

At least two local school board races, and the city council races were contested as of Friday.

Ronald J. Blount is challenging incumbent Freddie Taylor for the Place 4 seat on Sulphur Springs City Council.

Gary Spraggins and Pat Murray are currently the only two signed up to file for Place 5, currently held by Larry Powers who said he won't seek re-election.

Filing for the May 12 Sulphur Springs City Council election will continue at the Sulphur Springs Municipal Building, 125 South Davis St., through 5 p.m. Monday. Contact the city secretary, 903-885-7541, for information.

Filing also continues Monday for five local school board races.

As of last week, incumbents Carolyn Malone Thomas and Foy Williams were being challenged by Clay Johnson and "Mike" Nordin for three seats on the Sulphur Springs board. Norman Ray Sanders Jr. will not seek another term.

Candidates may file in the tax office at SSISD Administration Building, 631 Connally St. from 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m. Monday. Those applying should see election official Judy Gregg in the tax office.

At Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District, incumbents Abbie Wright, Gerald Walters and Brad Carr are challenged by Tom Hendricks, a market manager at Brookshire's; dairyman and milk truck company operator Michael Mundt; and operations manager Sherrie France, an operations manager.

To apply to run on the May 12 ballot for one of the three-year at-large seats on C-P CISD's school board, visit the central administration office on campus between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday.

At North Hopkins, all three spots on the board are three-year seats and will be awarded to the three candidates receiving the most votes. The three seats are currently held by Ricky Glossup, Brent McQueen and Edgar Clements. Incumbent McQueen was the only person to file as last week to run in that election.

Filing for the three full term spots on NHISD's school board will continue from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday in the school office.

Yantis has four positions open on its board: two full three-year seats, a two-year spot and a one-year seat. Arlan Yeagers and Bo West are currently serving in the two full term seats. The two-year seat was left open with Gary Long's recent resignation from the board, and Nicole Burchfield was appointed earlier in the year to serve in the other seat left open when a board member had to resign after moving out of the district. There is one year left on the unexpired spot Burchfield has been serving. Yeagers had applied for the one-year term as of last week, according to school officials.

Potential candidates should see Christy Beech in Yantis' business office between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008