Only two school districts reporting contested races

By FAITH HUFFMAN | News-Telegram News Editor

Mar. 1, 2007 - With a week left until the filing deadline for candidacy in the May 12 school board elections, only two school districts have contested races.

Four people have signed up to run for the three spots on Sulphur Springs Independent School District's board of trustees, while six have signed up for the three at-large spots on Como-Pickton's board.

In Sulphur Springs, incumbents Carolyn Malone Thomas and Foy Williams are both seeking a second term on the school board. Norman Ray Sanders Jr. has indicated he will not be seeking a third term on SSISD's board.

Joining them in a run for the three seats are Clay Johnson, a local attorney, and 58-year-old Charles "Mike" Nordin, who is self-employed and a lifelong Hopkins County resident. Nordin filed to run for the school board Wednesday.

The three seats are for three years each, with the spots awarded to the three candidates receiving the most votes at the conclusion of the May 12 election.

Candidate filing will be conducted weekdays through March 12 in the tax office at SSISD Administration Building, 631 Connally St. Hours are  Monday-Thursday from 8 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., and on Fridays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Those applying should see election official Judy Gregg in the tax office to pick up packets to register.

At Como-Pickton Consolidated Independent School District, all three incumbents have filed for reelection to the school board. Abbie Wright, Gerald Walters and Brad Carr are challenged by Brookshire's market manager Tom Hendricks, dairyman and milk truck company operator Michael Mundt, and C-PCISD operations manager Sherrie France. All three of the challengers have sought election at least once in recent years but have lost in the elections.

To apply to run on the May 12 ballot for one of the three-year at-large seats on Como-Pickton's school board, visit the central administration office on campus weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. through March 12.

Cumby has two full term spots which voters will determine on its board during the May 12 election. Jason Hudson and Jody Jarvis are currently serving in those spots. Only the incumbents had filed in Cumby as of Thursday morning.

Candidates may file at Cumby's administration building weekday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. through March 12.

At North Hopkins, all three spots on the board are three-year seats. The three seats are currently held by Ricky Glossup, Brent McQueen and Edgar Clements. Incumbent McQueen was the only person to file as of Thursday morning.

Filing will continue weekdays from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the school office through March 12.

Yantis has four positions open on its board, two full three-year seats, a two-year spot and a one-year seat. Arlan Yeagers and Bo West are currently serving in the two full term seats. The two-year seat was left open with Gary Long's resignation from the board, and Nicole Burchfield was appointed earlier in the year to serve in the other seat left open when a board member moved out of the district. There is one year left on the unexpired spot Burchfield has been serving. Yeagers has applied for the one-year term, according to school officials

Potential candidates should see Christy Beach in Yantis' business office between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday-Friday through March 9, and until 5 p.m. March 12.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008