Candidates file for primaries

By FAITH HUFFMAN | News-Telegram News Editor

Dec 3, 2007 - Filing for the March 4 party primary got off to an early start Monday, with incumbents in all local races filing for re-election, according to both Democratic and Republican party chairs.

Approximately 40 people turned out at Judy’s Kitchen, where Democratic incumbents filed. Among the incumbents to hand in their papers this morning officially declaring their intentions to seek re-election were the following Hopkins County officials Sheriff Charles “Butch” Adams, Precinct 3 Commissioner Don Patterson, Tax Assessor Debbie Pogue Jenkins, County Attorney Dustanna “Dusty” Hyde Rabe, Precinct 2 Constable Larry Argenbright and Precinct 1 Constable Roger “Tex” Maynard.

John W. Ragan also filed for the Democratic nomination for Precinct 1 county commissioner.

Filing for the Democratic primary will continue through Jan. 2. Anyone wishing to get on the Democratic ballot for any of these posts may contact Hopkins County Democratic Party Chair Bill Brannon at 903-926-1200.

Republicans met at 1700 Hines Street this morning for the start of filings for that party. Incumbent County Commissioner Beth Wisenbaker handed in her papers seeking releection as commissioner of Precinct 1. Will Woods also filed this morning, challenging Wisenbaker for the Republican nomination for Precinct 1 county commissioner. (See photo on page 10.)

Phillip Anderson and Norman Sanders were both on hand for the filings; each picked up but have yet to return applications to run on the Republican ticket in the party primary, Anderson for Precinct 3 county commissioner and Sanders for sheriff.

To file as a Republican for any of the local county elections contact Hopkins County Republican Party Chair Chris Brown by phone at 903-885-5040 or stop by 1700 Hines St. through Jan. 2.

Other posts up for election this year are 8th Judicial District attorney, 8th Judicial District judge, 62nd Judicial District judge, 4th Congressional District representative, District 3 state representative. Filing for these officers are handled at the state level, and thus information on filings was not available at press time. However, 8th Judicial District Attorney Martin Braddy, 8th Judicial District Judge Robert Newsom, 62nd Judicial District Judge Scott McDowell, 4th District Congressman Ralph Hall and District 3 State Rep. Mark Homer were expected to file for re-election.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008