SSMS girls choir wins UIL sweepstakes

By FAITH HUFFMAN | News-Telegram News Editor

Apr. 16, 2007 - For the second consecutive year, Sulphur Springs Middle School's seventh and eighth grade girls choir earned the UIL sweepstakes trophy, while the seventh and eighth grade boys choir earned a superior ranking.

Staff Photo by Angela Pitts

More than 80 students from Sulphur Springs Middle School contributed to the wins at the University Interscholastic League Concert and Sight-Reading Contest, held March 30 at Canton High School.

More than 80 students from SSMS — 67 girls and 16 boys — contributed to the wins at the University Interscholastic League Concert and Sight-Reading Contest, held March 30 at Canton High School.

The girls' accomplishment was reached with only four rehearsals prior to the meet. The girls' selections included Robert Schumann's "Herbstlied," William Byrd's "Non Nobis, Domine" and the contemporary piece "The Tiger" by Sherri Porterfield, for which they earned top honors overall.

The top ranked girls choir consisted of Summer Ball, Shelby Beliew, Hayley Brock, Gracie Cable, Victoria Calhoun, Shelby Carter, Shaquille Corona, Tori Cotton, Cydnee Devereaux, Katie Dougan, Alissa Doughtie, Jordan Morgan, Parey Draper, Erin Echols, Morgan Edge, Jalie Eppars, Cydnie Finnie, Sarah Forsman, Shelby George, Ashton Hale, Taylor Hale, Hilary Harrington, Taryn Hill, Megan Hodges, Megan Hurley, Kyri Ivery, Katylin Ivey, Shelby Junot, Mariah Kendricks, Hannah Kirby, Ashlyn Landers, Alejandra Lira, Cassie Long, Andrea Marquez, Karlee Mathews, Hannah McCampbell, Kayla Miller, Kelsi Millsap, Kadi Moore, Samantha Weeks, Samantha Owens, Kendall Parks, Courtney Patton, Danesha Peoples, Kaley Perry, Bailee Petty, Mikki Petty, Melissa Phillips, Whitney Price, Kristin Ramsey, Monica Ransom, Heather Raye, Tristyn Rutledge, Jordin Sharp, Morgan Shearer, Skyler Sinclair, Cierra Spivey, Vicki Starkey, Tiffany Stenger, Kalan Stewart, Kendall Stieber, Maya Thomas, Kayla Townsend, Olyvia Watson, Rachael Williams, Jaymee Wilson and Elexa Wood.

The seventh and eight grade boys also came home with an plaque for their superior concert performance, the highest rating an ensemble can earn.

They performed Ruth Schram's "Benedictus," Patti DeWitt's "The Sailor's Song" and the song "Hello! My Baby" written by Joseph E. Howard and Ida Emerson who are also known as Howard/Emerson.

The boys choir consisted of Caleb Brown, Carter Colby, Frazier Colton, Miguel Ibarra, Kryshad Ivery, Lucas Ivey, Adrian Johnson, Carlos Lira, Seth Maeker, Jordan McLarry, Luis Olivo, Eduardo Osorio, K.J. Taylor, Anthony Thorn, Terrance Wheat and Taylor Wilks.

Both choirs are conducted by SSMS Choir Director Dona White and accompanied by Mary Ellen Kirkland.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008