North Hopkins takes 15th stright district UIL title

By FAITH HUFFMAN | News-Telegram News Editor

Apr. 10, 2007 - For the 15th consecutive year, North Hopkins High School took home the district Academic UIL championship title, with 20 students qualifying to compete this weekend at the regional University Interscholastic League contest in Nacogdoches.

Staff Photo by Angela Pitts

20 North Hopkins High School students are advancing to regional UIL competition. Pictured, left to right, are: (front) Leia Butler, Tana Hall, Cheyenne Brown, Jessica Harry, Virginia Thomas, Sabra Thomas, Megan Lehr, Cayla Newkirk, Ali Santana, Ebbonye Johnson, Hannah Martel; (back) Dustin Holder, Roger Sancho, Alvaro Aguilar, Lorenzo Rivera, Brian Vaughn, Blake McClure, Steve Crocker and Nick Tamsma. Not pictured is Joy Johnson.

North Hopkins took the district championship with a whopping 545 points following the March 27-29 Conference 1A District 20 meet held at the school. Yantis High School came in second with 198 points, followed by Avery with 181, Detroit 144, McLeod, 126, Bowie 100, Cumby High School 80, Union Hill 50 and Bloomburg 21.

North Hopkins dominated in a number of categories and had several students recognized for their achievements in more than one event. Students placing first through third and teams placing first advanced to the Regional UIL Meet from April 13-14 at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches.

North Hopkins had at least three students placing in the top six spots in eight categories, with the school receiving top team honors in journalism, literary criticism and speech categories. They also received second place and fourth place team recognition for cross-examination debate, and second place team honors in accounting, number sense and social studies.

Several students earned more than one award.

Sabra Thomas took top honors in computer applications, editorial writing, literary criticism and number sense, and was on the first place literary criticism team and second-ranked number sense team.

Ali Santana and Cheyenne Brown shored up the featuring writing competition, taking first and second place honors respectively. Each was also on the top-ranked journalism team. Santana also placed second in news writing and ready writing contests.

Nick Tamsma placed first in informative speaking and second in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Jessica Harry placed sixth and Joy Johnson third in Lincoln-Douglas debate. Hannah Martel placed second in informative speaking and prose interpretation. Harry also placed third in persuasive speaking. Ebbonye Johnson took top honors in persuasive speaking and Jackie Gold four place.

Cayla Newkirk earned top honors in news writing and prose interpretation, and was on the second-ranked cross-examination team with Roger Sancho. The team of Jackie Gold and Julia Tamsma-ranked fourth in cross-examination debate.

A.J. Aguilar placed first in poetry interpretation and third in news writing. Lorenza Rivera also was honored for earning second in social studies. Rivera, Lehr and Miguel Sanchez made up the social studies team.

Brian Vaughn went home with second place in computer applications, fourth in computer science and fifth place in accounting. He was also on the second-ranked accounting team, the top-ranked computer science team, and second-ranked number sense team.

Kadee Melton won fourth in accounting and was on the second-ranked accounting team, along with Brennan Bassham and Steve Crocker. Brennan Bassham also placed sixth in computer applications, while Steve Crocker placed second in computer science and was on the first-ranked computer science team.

Virginia Thomas earned second in headline writing, third in ready writing, and fifth in spelling and vocabulary, and was a member of the ace journalism team.

Blake McClure placed third in computer science and fourth in headline writing, and was on the first-ranked computer science team. Roger Sancho, who placed fifth individually, competed the top-ranked computer science team.

Tana Hall earned second in editorial writing and third in informative speaking, and was on the second-ranked number sense team and the first place journalism team. Leia Butler also placed third in editorial writing.

Megan Lehr placed third and Dustin Holder fifth in literary criticism, and were on the top-ranked literary criticism team. Lehr also was on the second-ranked social studies and number sense teams.

In other UIL competition, the school's One Act Play team was named as the alternate play to the regional meet following area competition, and had one student earn best actress and another honorable mention.

The school advanced to the area contest after tying Bowie High School for first place in district. Their presentation of "The Small World of Mill McIvor" on March 29 at the district contest at Paris Junior College also resulted in Colton Boyd being named best actor, Cayla Newkirk and Chastin Smiddy named to the All Star Cast, and Brian Vaughn and Hannah Martel earning honorable mention.

At the area play competition April 5 at Trinity Valley Community College in Athens, the One Act Play cast was named the alternate play to the regional meet. Hannah Martel went on to be named best actress, while Colton Boyd received honorable mention.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008