SSHS district UIL winning streak ends at 24

From Staff Reports

Apr. 3, 2007 - Sulphur Springs High School's winning streak of 24 straight district University Interscholastic League academic titles came to a halt Saturday, but more than two dozen SSHS students qualified to compete for regional honors.

Staff Photo by Angela Pitts

Many members of Sulphur Springs High School’s UIL academic team are headed for the regional UIL meet in Denton on April 14 after placing at or near the top at the district meet, which concluded Saturday.

Lindale eked out a 10-point win over SSHS on Saturday, winning the distric academic sweepstakes with 388 points to Sulphur Springs' 378, breaking the SSHS district winning streak at 24.

"I think it's good once in a while to have a wake up call,” Superintendent Patsy Bolton said during Monday night’s SSISD board meeting.

�They faced stiff competition. We know how hard you and the students worked," Bolton told SSHS UIL Coordinator Gina Wilder.

"The kids worked diligently," Wilder said.

"I know you're very disappointed about sweepstakes, but this is not just a respectable finish, this is wonderful," SSISD Board President Judy Gillem said. “Seeing this many students compete and place is awesome.”

Wilder said she believed many of the students advancing to the regional meet have a good chance of advancing further.

"I think a lot of kids can go all the way to state," she said.

"Gina, we thank you for being a great coordinator," board member Jack Chubb said.

"I'm really impressed by this and our kids," board member Norman Sanders said.

SSHS did bring home one special award from the UIL meet. The trophy for Literary Champion, awarded to the school with the most points excluding speech and journalism, was presented to Sulphur Springs.

Thirteen SSHS students qualified for the regional UIL academic meet that will be held in Denton on Saturday, April 14, by placing in the top three in their disciplines. Another 11 students qualified by being members of the five first-place teams from SSHS. The school's One-Act Play team also advanced to area competition.

Individuals taking first place trophies were Rachel Ming, accounting; Levi Moore, science; Logan McQueen, spelling and vocabulary; and Kendall Scudder, current events.

Seven students finished in second place individually. They were Ryan Clark, accounting; Landon McCaig, calculator; James Wheeler, Jr., science; Dakota Graham, computer applications; Leah Davis, computer science; Charlie Ginn, poetry; and Kendall Scudder, prose.

Four more qualified by having the third-best scores in their competitions: Jeff Johnson, computer science; Melissa Hayes, calculator; Landon McCaig, mathematics; and Kelsey Brown, spelling and vocabulary.

Sulphur Springs High School also will send five teams

to the April 14 meet in Denton. The teams are:

-- Science — Jillian Campbell, Robby Jackson, Levi Moore, and James Wheeler Jr.

-- Accounting — Mercades Brown, Ryan Clark, Kimberly Mathes, and Rachel Ming

Computer science — Leah Davis, Jeff Johnson, Sam Pierce, and Connor McCorkle

-- Spelling and vocabulary — Kelsey Brown, Erica Dorsey, Logan McQueen, and Caitlin Thomas

-- Calculator — Robin Grafton, Melissa Hayes, Landon McCaig, and Marci Womack

Several other students scored well at the district academic meet.

Fourth place individuals were Sam Pierce, computer science; Donald Tiegiser, computer applications; Lauren Longino, literary criticism; Marci Womack, calculator; and Caitlin Thomas, spelling and vocabulary

Fifth place individuals included Chelsey Tiegiser, computer applications; Olivia Stribling, current events; Robin Grafton, calculator; Kendall Scudder, persuasive speaking; and Kasie Carrell, literary criticism.

Sixth place individuals were Meentra Morakotwichitkarn, number sense; Levi Moore, mathematics; Jillian Campbell, science; Allison Hefner, headline writing; Connor McCorkle, computer science; Olivia Stribling, informative speaking; James Wheeler Jr., ready writing

Five teams took second place honors at the meet. They included:

-- Number sense — Justin Brown, Landon McCaig, Kaci Mohon, and Meentra Morakotwichitkarn

-- Current events — Natanael Gonzalez, Jordan Owens, Kendall Scudder, and Olivia Stribling

-- Literary criticism — Kasie Carrell, Lauren Longino, Katy Mason, and Cooper Welch

-- Social studies — Jeff Johnson, Katy Mason, Tyler Rascoe, and Donald Tiegiser

-- Mathematics — Landon McCaig, Sam McLeroy, Kaci Mohon, and Levi Moore

Sulphur Springs’ One-Act Play cast and crew also advanced to the area meet after taking district honors March 29 at Texarkana College. Andy Ginn received an All-Star Tech award, Robby Jackson earned Honorable Mention All-Star Cast, and Charlie Ginn, Chris Moon, and Tyhler Reppond received All-Star Cast awards. If chosen as one of the top two plays at area competition at Tyler Junior College this Thursday, the One-Act Play company will advance to the regional meet, which will be held in Highland Park on Thursday, April 12.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008