Voters will decide three local races in Tuesday’s election
From Staff Reports

Nov. 6, 2006 - Early vote numbers and an unusually heavy field of contested local races should add up to a busy day of balloting Tuesday at Hopkins County polling places.

The general election from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at 20 voting sites across the county will decide three races for county government offices and play a pivotal role in choosing the state representative for the area.

Local contested races include:

  • The race for Hopkins County judge between incumbent Democrat Cletis Millsap and Republican challenger Jason Cunningham;  
  • The re-election bid by incumbent Hopkins County Court-at-Law Judge Amy McCorkle Smith, a Democrat, and Republican Party challenger Eddie Northcutt;
  • Democrat Treva Watson and Republican Cheryl Fulcher, who are running for the Hopkins County Treasurer job being vacated by Betty Bassham, who announced she is retiring.

The other race of heightened local interest is for District 3 State Representative, currently held by Mark Homer, a Paris Democrat. He is being challenged for the second time by Republican Kirby Hollingsworth, a Mount Vernon businessman.

The two faced off in 2004 when Homer won a fourth term in the state House of Represenatives, defeating Hollingsworth by 24,167 votes to 23,854 in the District 3 race, which includes Hopkins, Delta, Franklin, Lamar, Red River and Titus counties

Hollingsworth took 6,274 votes in Hopkins County to 5,210 for Homer.

Homer was first elected in 1998 after former State Rep. Pete Patterson decided to seek the office of Texas Agriculture Commissioner.

County polling places by precinct designation for Tuesday's election are as follows:

1 - Lutheran Church, 1000 Texas St., Sulphur Springs

1A - City Hall, 125 S. Davis St., Sulphur Springs

2 - VFW Hall-Women's building, 1103 Whitworth St., Sulphur Springs

2A - Senior Citizens Building, 150 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Sulphur Springs

3 - New Beginnings Church, 155 North Jackson St., Sulphur Springs

3A - Miracle Revival Church, 1318 North Jackson St., Sulphur Springs

4 - Fellowship Christian Church, 207 North Davis St., Sulphur Springs

4A - League Street Church of Christ, 1100 South League St., Sulphur Springs

5 - Saltillo Community Center, FM 900, Saltillo; 8 - Reilly Springs Community Center, 503 County Road 2439, Sulphur Springs

11 - Cumby Community Center and Fire Station, 101 Main St., Cumby

12 - Sulphur Bluff Community Center, 60 FM 71, Sulphur Bluff

13 - Como Community Center, downtown Como

14 - Pickton Community Center, 521 County Road 417, Pickton

16 - Miller Grove Community Center, 658 FM 275, Cumby

17 - North Hopkins School, 1994 FM 71 west, Sulphur Springs

20 - Ridgeway County Barn, State Highway 11 west, Sulphur Springs

23 - Weaver Baptist Church, 782 County Road 531, Saltillo

24 - Dike Community Center, 674 FM 69 south, Dike

25 - Brashear Community Center, 160 FM 2653, Brashear

36 - Arbala Community Center, 550 FM 567, Yantis

The county clerk's office will be closed on Tuesday , except for election business. The office will resume regular business operations on Wednesday.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008