Board seats filled in seven school districts
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

May 15, 2006 - New trustees were elected to seven local school boards following Saturday's general election. The results will be canvassed at the next meeting of each school district's board of trustees, new board members will be administered the oath of office and each board reorganized with new officers selected.

Incumbent Mark Humphreys won his bid for another term on Como-Pickton's board. Beth Hankins beat out the five other challengers for the second board seat, currently held by Jace Anglin who opted not to seek another term. Overall, Humphreys received 106 votes, Beth Hankins 86 votes, Tom Hendricks 35,  Sherrie Shadix France 33, Kelly Kight and John "Bubba" Robinson Jr. both received 23 votes each and Michael Mund 17 votes. 

Cumby voters elected incumbents David Barrow and Jesse Heer, and challenger David Petty to that board of trustees. Barrow received 121 and Jesse Heer 147, Petty 160, Newsom 72, Darla Davis 44, Russell Parker 42 and  Randall Walker 37 votes. Incumbent Keith Newsom challenged Heer and Petty for the two full terms, while Barrow beat out the other challengers for the two remaining years of the unexpired term he was appointed to fill earlier this year.

At North Hopkins, Robert Whaley was elected to serve another three years on the board, while Jenny Cockrum was defeated in her bid for relection by Robert McPherson for the second full term trustee spot. Whaley received 85 votes, McPherson 79 and Cockrum 64. Edgar Clements also beat out challengers Bob Williams, Kim Ball, Tina Flippin, Edgar Clements and RaDona Adams for the two remaining years of Max Drummond's term on the board. Clements received 51 votes, Adams 42, Williams 37, Flippin 17 and Ball six votes.

In Saltillo, incumbent Gary Mobley beat out challenger Lawanda Simmons 45 to six for Place 5 on that school board. Rusty Daniel, who ran unopposed for Place 4, received 39 votes as well. Daniel replaces two-term board member Bruce Thompson, who opted not to run a third time

Following the election for three at large spots on Sulphur Bluff's board, voters selected two incumbents and one challenger. The election proved every vote does county, especially in local elections as the second through fourth places were determined by one vote. Incumbent Bill Wilder drew a whopping 82 votes, easily reelecting him to the board, while incumbent Joey Dorner and Brian Dorner narrowly edging out challenger Billy M. Emerson by one point. Joey Dorner received 59 votes, Brian Dorner 58 votes and Emerson 57 votes. Incumbent Micah Johnson finished  fifth with 46 votes and Nicole Massey last with 39 votes. Wilder and both Dorners will serve three terms on Sulphur Bluff's board of trustees.

In Yantis, only one of the two incumbents listed on the ballot was reelected. Gary Long and Shannon Young knocked long-time board member Betty Caudle off the board, with incumbent Boyd McCreight earning the third spot. Long drew the most votes, 166, with Young trailing at 139 and McCreight close behind with 137 votes. Tommy Davis received 95 votes, Caudle 82 and Debra Allbritton 60. Young will replace Sheila Phillips who opted not to seek another term on Yantis's board of trustees.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008