Three file for SSISD seats
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

March 14, 2006 -- Filing in school board races picked up over the last week, with at least four area school boards now holding contested races.

Officials from four districts could not be reached Monday evening regarding the final filings in those races -- many are closed for spring break -- but at least one of them, Como-Pickton, was contested as of last week.

Sulphur Springs ISD

In Sulphur Springs  Independent School District, incumbent Judy Gillem is challenged in her bid for re-election by Don Sapaugh and Oscar Medelline. Sapaugh is employed at City National Bank and Medelline is a pharmacist at Medicine Chest North. The two candidates receiving the most votes in the May 13 election will each win a seat on Sulphur Spring's school board for the next three years. The other incumbent, Robert Vanwinkle Jr., did not sign up for re-election.

Miller Grove ISD

Miller Grove school will be saved the expense of an election, as only three people signed up for the three seats on that board. Incumbents Brian Lennon, Carolyn Burns and Jim Potts will continue to serve as trustees on that school board, Superintendent Steve Johnson said Monday.

North Hopkins ISD

At North Hopkins, incumbents Robert Whaley and Jenny Cockrum are challenged in their bid for re-election to the two full team seats on that school board by Robert McPherson. The two candidates receiving the most votes in the May 13 election will be awarded the three-year seat.

North Hopkins voters will also select one of five candidates to  finish out the remaining year of Max Drummond's term on the board. The five candidates for the one-year seat are Bob Williams, Kim Ball, Tina Flippin, Edgar Clements and RaDona Adams. Kim Martel, who was appointed earlier to fill the term, chose not to file.

Cumby ISD

Voters in Cumby will be asked to select two candidates for full term seats on the school board and one candidate to serve out the remaining two years of an unexpired term during the May 13 election, according to school officials. Incumbents Jesse D. Heer and Keith Newsom are challenged in their bids for re-election to the two at-large seats on the board by David Petty. The two candidates receiving the most votes will be awarded the two spots. Incumbent David Barrow will also be challenged by  Darla Davis, Russell Parker and Randall Walker for the two years of the unexpired term he was appointed to fill earlier in the year.

Saltillo ISD

As of last week, Saltillo incumbent Gary Mobley was the only candidate to file for the Place 5 seat, and Rusty Daniel was the only one to turn in his application for Place 4, currently held by board president Bruce Thompson. Saltillo ISD Superintendent Paul Jones could not be reached at the filing deadline Monday regarding any additional filings.

Sulphur Bluff ISD

In Sulphur Bluff, incumbents Brian Dorner, Micah Johnson and Bill Wilder had filed for the school board election, as have Joey Dorner, Billy Emerson and Nicole Massey. They are running for three seats on the school board.

Como-Pickton CISD

Como-Pickton as of last week had four individuals sign up to have their names placed on the ballot for the May election. Incumbent Mark Humphreys is being challenged in his bid for reelection by Michael Mundt, John Robinson and Beth Hankins. School officials could not be reached Monday afternoon for further filing information.

Yantis ISD

As of last week only one person, Debra Allbritton, had filed for the three spots on Yantis ISD's board of trustees. School officials could not be reached Monday evening for further filing information.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008