Jimmy Allen named Ice Cream Freeze Off winner
Patti Sells | News-Telegram Feature Editor

June 12, 2006 - Homemade ice cream helped cool down crowds as they waited to hear  results of this year's Texas State Champion Ice Cream Freeze-Off.

More than 50 entries participated in the Hopkins County Dairy festival  Saturday on the Civic Center grounds. 

And what a delicious day it was.

In the "Little Dip Plain" category, Matthew Nelson won with good ole' vanilla ice cream, and Mandy Eckhardt came in second with maple vanilla. Ryan Henton took the prize in the "Little Dip Fruit" category with strawberry, while Tori Cotton won first place for her caramel peanut butter ice cream and Jordan and Tyler Broyles placed second with coconut macaroon in the "Little Dip Novelty" category. 

"Big Dip Plain" winners were, first place, Carlie Penson with chocolate; second place, Wesley Fouse with vanilla; and third, Chris Allan with his version of chocolate. 

Henry Penson won the "Big Dip Fruit" category with peach ice cream, while Yvonne King took second with her banana-strawberry cream and Richard Allen won third place with his Blackberry ice cream.

In the "Big Dip Novelty" category, Chris Allen won with a coffee flavored treat, Gayle Broyles won second place with banana ice cream and David Gideon placed third with an oreo surprise.

The “Peoples Choice” award went to Kaylene Black for her strawberry, banana nut concoction.

As for the Super Scoop awards, Jimmy Allen was named the new Texas State Homemade Ice Cream Freeze-Off winner with his butter pecan, and James Ross placed second with creamy strawberry.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008