Saltillo High Class of 2006 takes more than diplomas home
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor
Class of 2006

Saltillo High School graduates were honored with diplomas and awards during commencement exercises held Friday night. Overall, $25,600 in scholarships were awarded to the seniors during graduation.
Photo courtesy Saltillo High School

June 5, 2006 - Saltillo High School seniors went home with more than diplomas from their high school graduation Friday night, June 2. Overall, the graduates amassed $25,600, presented in the form of 17 scholarships at the commencement exercise.

Trey Thompson received more scholarships than the other eight recipients, while SHS valedictorian Lauren Copeland was presented the largest single scholarship.

Copeland was awarded the valedictorian award, which will cover the cost of tuition, estimated at about $15,000, to attend the state college of her choice. She also was awarded a $350 Booster Club/PTO scholarship

Thompson went home with a $500 Landon Ramsay Scholarship, a $250 Martin Luther & Leona Dennis Math Award, a $250 Region VIII Employees award, a $1,000 Texas Rural Education Association scholarship, $350 Booster Club/PTO scholarship and a $1,000 Mt. Vernon/Saltillo Young Farmers scholarship.

Another student receiving quite a few scholarships was Kara Miller. Gober/Merrill awarded Miller a $250 award. She also received, a $1000 Peoples Telephone scholarship, a $1,000 Ladies Auxiliary VFW scholarship, a $350 Booster Club/PTO scholarship and a $500 Ben & Sandra Tyler scholarship.

The Octavio Perea Jr. award went to salutatorian Dani Gamez. The $500 award is presented in memory of  2003-04 SHS salutatorian Octavio Perea Jr. who was killed in a vehicle crash March 17, 2005. Gamez also received a $350 Booster Club/PTO

Cody Tully and Cassie Canup each benefited from a Sharon Tully Scholarship worth $250. Canup was also awarded a $250 James Miller Memorial Scholarship from Hopkins/Rains Co. Farm Bureau.

Ryan Burdett was presented a $250 counselor/principal’s scholarship from Northeast Texas Community College while Daniel White took home the $250 R.B. McAfee Scholarship. Both also received a $350 Booster Club/PTO scholarship.

Justin Wade also received a$500 Mt. Vernon/Saltillo Young Farmers scholarship. 

The Saltillo graduating class included Ryan Heath Burdett, Cassie Nicole Canup, Lauren Michelle Copeland, Anthony Jay Crowston, Royce Glenn Emerson, Sahira Alonso Fiscal, David Alexander Frew, Daniel Gerardo Gamez, Shane Matthew Gammill, Laura Maria Gorostieta, Bobby Frank Hankins, Pieter E.  Hoekstra, Kara Michelle Miller, Miguel Angel Olvera, Bruce Webster "Trey" Thompson, Cody Dewayne Tully, Nick Hank Vangerwen, Justin Miles Wade, Daniel Jason White and William Brian White.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008