The Streak Continues
SSHS academic team takes 24th straight district UIL title; 25 advance to regional contest
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

Sulphur Springs High School students continued their winning streak by taking the District 12-4A Academic University Interscholastic League championship for the 24th consecutive year. Twenty-five members of the SSHS UIL Academic Team also advanced to the regional contest.
Photo Courtesy of SSHS

April 4, 2006 -- Sulphur Springs High School, for the 24th straight year, captured the District 12-4A Academic University Interscholastic League championship following last week's contest at North Lamar High School.

SSHS went home with 488 points, with North Lamar trailing in second with 354 points, according to UIL Coordinator Gina Wilder.

Twenty-five members of the SSHS UIL Academic Team also advanced to the regional meet, scheduled for April 21-22. In order to advance to the regional contest, competitors were required to place in the top three slots in their individual category.

The students also brought home eight team awards, recognizing four each as first and second place teams. Also, Tim Phillips was recognized for earning the top score in chemistry.

Students placing first included Andrew Watley, spelling and vocabulary, and headline writing; Tasia Barrett, feature writing; Zachary Wisniewski, computer science; Brandon Woolley, prose;  and Charlie Ginn, poetry.

Teams receiving top honors included the calculator applications team of Andrew Watley, Robin Grafton, Marci Womack and Melissa Hayes; the spelling vocabulary team of Andrew Watley, Logan McQueen, Kayla Morgan and Jerrell Allen; the accounting team made up of Laura Ream, Rachel Ming, Jessica Black and Mercades Brown; and the social studies team of Sam Dolan, Chase Helm, Travis Longino and Lane McClung.

Individuals placing second included Landon McCaig, number sense; Andrew Watley, calculator applications; Tasia Barrett, news writing; Logan McQueen, spelling and vocabulary; Tim Phillips, science; Laura Ream, accounting, Ty Stephens, editorial writing; and Travis Longino, social studies.

Making up the second place number sense team were Robin Grafton, Jeffrey Kramer, Landon McCaig and Kaci Mohon. The second-ranked science team consisted of Tim Phillips, Morgan Baima, Jeffrey Kramer, Robin Grafton, Dustin Pundt and Dean Soeder, while Jeffrey Johnson, Sam Pierce, Michael Wilson and Zachary Wisniewski made up the second-place computer science team. Rounding out the second place finishers was the mathematics team of Jerrell Allen, Jeffrey Kramer, Tim Phillips and Michael Wilson.

Students finishing third in individual categories included Ty Stephens, ready writing; Andrew Watley, Lincoln-Douglas debate; Jessica Peoples, computer applications; Robin Grafton, calculator applications; Rachel Ming, accounting; Sam Dolan, social studies; Sam Pierce, computer science; and Morgan Lutz, prose.

Two students, Robin Grafton and Jeffrey Kramer, tied for fourth place in number sense. Also recognized for their fourth place rankings were Lacey Boggs, computer applications; Melissa Hayes, calculator applications; Kayla Morgan, spelling and vocabulary; Jessica Black, accounting; Olivia Watson, poetry; Amanda Tredway, headline writing; Tim Phillips, mathematics; and Chase Helm, informative speaking.

Included among the students finishing fifth were Jerrell Allen, ready writing, and spelling and vocabulary; Cherish Bolton, computer applications; Brittany Scott, news writing; Morgan Baima, science; Andrew Watley, editorial writing; Jeffrey Kramer, mathematics; and Robby Moore, persuasive speaking.

Sixth-place finishers included Brandi King, literary criticism; Jeffrey Kramer, science; Brittany Scott, feature writing; and Melissa Ream, prose.

The One Act Play cast were selected as alternates for their presentation of "Much Ado About Nothing." Rachel Brown and Charlie Ginn were named to the All Star Cast, and Ryan Thompson and Brandon Woolley honorable mention All Star Cast. Stephen Kramer and Carley Stewart were given the technical award.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008