Chamber elects nine new directors
Kerry Craig | News-Telegram Assistant Editor

Keith Shurtleff, left, chairman of the board of the Hopkins County Chamber of Commerce, congratulates James Van Winkle, board member and chairman of the 35th annual World Champion Hopkins County Stew Contest, on a job well-done. Hopkins County Stew was recently highlighted in an article in “Saveur Magazine,” a nationally distributed culinary periodical  published in New York City.
Chamber of Commerce photo

Oct. 16, 2005 -- Hopkins County Chamber of Commerce elected nine new directors and two alternates Thursday, according to Keith Shurtleff, chairman of the board.

Those elected to serve on the Chamber board include Tommy Perez, Bob Weaver, Sandi Wallace, Bobby McDonald, Linda Bennett, Paul Eddins, Linda Henton, Deborah Wright and Julie Halstead.

�These additions to the board are going to make for a very productive year next year,� Shurtleff said. �I am excited about being on the board again, and I know that [Chairman-elect] David Brewer is very excited about being chairman of the board with this particular board working with him.

Two alternates, Jim Butler and Chris Coleman, were also selected by the Chamber board. 

�These alternates are very important to our board because, hopefully, they will stay involved, and we will invariably use them,� Shurtleff said.

Each year, the Chamber of Commerce forms a committee during its September board meeting and asks that committee to select the potential new board members.

The selection committee is made up of Chamber members, but none of the current board sits on the committee, giving the selection committee the independence needed to make its selections. 

Candidates the committee would like to nominate are presented to the Chamber board for final approval before being voted on by Chamber membership.

Second year directors include Charlotte Baxter, Pansy Bell, David Brewer, Lisa Gideon, Judy Gillem, Keith Shurtleff and Freddie Taylor.

At the end of each year, before the November meeting, the sitting executive board will select officers for the coming year. The selection is made so some second-year members of the board, as well as those serving their first year, can have a role in the selection.

Those board members completing their final year are Dana Cleaver, Jonas Helm, Linda Mattingly, Gary Spraggins, Polly Swatsell and James VanWinkle.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008