County well represented on mobility council board
From Staff Reports

Nov. 9, 2005 - Northeast Texas Regional Mobility Council has elected Hopkins County Judge Cletis Millsap president of the incoming board. Other officers elected to two-year terms include Delbert Horton, Ph.D., from Delta County, as vice president; Roger Feagley of Hopkins County, as secretary; and Kay Sanders from Hunt County, as treasurer.  The organization also elected new board members Scott Stegall of Delta County, Brady Fisher of Lamar County and Tom Oliver of Hunt County. Don Wall returns to the board also representing Lamar County. Returning to the board for another term is Bill Elliott, Hopkins County Chamber of Commerce president, who was elected member-at-large.

�I am grateful for the hard work and dedication of my fellow board members during the past two years and the good things that we have been able to accomplish for Northeast Texas,� said outgoing President Don Wall. �I look forward to working with Judge Millsap and the other board members as we work on NETMOB projects.�

During Wall’s term, NETMOB, in partnership with the Texas Department of Transportation, secured $2.8 million in federal highway funds for State Highway 24 and the Monty Stratton Overpass in Greenville.   NETMOB was also instrumental in designating Interstate 30 as a Congressional High Priority Corridor. 

The NETMOB board, in a unanimous resolution, requested funding assistance from TxDoT for a feasibility study to determine the economic impact of the Northeast Texas Rural Transportation District’s regional rail system.  At the August NETMOB meeting, Congressman Ralph Hall indicated that a study was necessary to provide documentary economic evidence to support any request for federal funds.    

NETMOB requested the consulting firm of Association Strategies to conduct a communication training session at their regular February meeting.  The board also authorized the firm to initiate the planning of a transportation summit co-sponsored by NETMOB and TxDoT for late spring 2006.  The assistance of Association Strategies is provided to NETMOB through an outreach service program by TxDoT.   

Northeast Texas Regional Mobility Council by-laws require membership of the board be comprised of two representatives from Hunt, Delta, Hopkins and Lamar counties, and is charged with improving the highway systems, railroads, airports and high-tech infrastructure within and traversing these four counties.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008