Some rural ISD races crowded, some quiet
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

March 8, 2005 -- The filing deadline for candidacy in rural school board elections concluded at 5 p.m. Monday, with four Hopkins County schools having contested races and two others not expected to require an election due to a lack of opposing candidates.

Saltillo Independent School District will not be holding an election as only one person filed for each of the three places on Saltillo's board of trustees. In an upcoming board meeting the following will be sworn in as new members of the board: Earl Gregory, Place 1; Matt Wilson, Place 2; and Barry Brewer, Place 3, according to Saltillo ISD Superintendent Paul Jones.

North Hopkins Independent School District also had only three candidates file for three seats on its school board. All three incumbents -- Kevin Melton, Jimmy Goldsmith and Ricky Glossup -- filed for re-election, according to NHISD Superintendent Tommy Long.

Sherrie Shaddox France's application late Monday ensured that Como-Pickton will be required to hold an election for the two seats on its board. Shaddox challenges incumbents Penny Spearman and Danny Ray Moss for one of the three-year spots on C-P Consolidated Independent School District's board of education.

Cumby Independent School District will have one of the most crowded school board races, with five candidates filing for three full-term spots on its board. Incumbents Keith Webb, David Barrow and Lou Ann Petty are challenged by Renee Seely and Rick Steward. Voting in this election will be conducted in the board room at the school district's Administrative Building.

Miller Grove had four candidates sign up for two seats on its board. Neither of the current board members opted to file for re-election, thus drawing four new candidates. They include Roy George, Douglas Hall, Oran Boyett and Eric Mabe.

Sulphur Bluff has perhaps the most contested race with seven people signing up for three seats, four for the two full-term positions and three for the one-year unexpired term currently being held by Toney L. Hurley, who was appointed when another member left the board. Hurley joins Troy Emerson, Karen M. Dorner Powers and Cindy Smith in their bids for the three-year seats on the board. Phillip Anderson, Dana Strain and Brian Dorner filed to run as candidates for the one-year unexpired term on Sulphur Bluff Independent School District's board of trustees.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008