Thirty-four SSHS students advance to state BPA Leadership Conference and Contest
Faith Huffman | News-Telegram News Editor

Feb. 2, 2005 -- Sulphur Springs High School had 34 students qualify to compete at the State Business Professionals of America Leadership Conference and Contest to be held March 2-5, in Arlington.

Of the 34 advancing to the state meet, 16 BPA students earned either first or second individually. Eight additional students "who are not in a judged subjective contest" advanced to state after placing third, and 16 more were among the students composing five first place teams and two second place teams.

Fourteen of the 34 state-bound students placed in both team and individual events at the Area I Region III BPA Leadership Conference and Contest held Saturday at Mesquite High School.

Individual first place winners included Joel Thompson, digital media production; Calvin Friesth, advanced interview skills; Tasia Barret, medical office procedures; Brandon Woolley, prepared speaking; Megan Lescallett, C++ programming; Cade Rea, PC troubleshooting; Auston Copeland, entrepreneur; and Dillon Millsap, fundamentals of HTML.

The first place economic research team included Tasia Barret, Haleigh Hampton, Sarah McLeroy and Kristin Midgley, while the first place administrative support team included Kimberly Garrard, Jovan Gonzalez and Laura Ream. Collin Alexander, Joe Beason, Chase Helm and Landon McCaig composed the first-ranked financial analyst team, while the small business management team consisted of Luke Panter, Kacy Sheffield, Candace Stillwagoner and Valerie Walker. Megan Lescallet and Cade Rea made up the software engineering team that received first place honors.

Second place individual winners included Brandon Edwards, extemporaneous speaking; Collin Alexander, digital media production; Haleigh Hampton, medical office procedures; Elizabeth Stump, human resource management; Kimberly Garrard, presentation management; Mercedes Brown, payroll accounting; Shelbi Owens, keyboarding; and Melissa Cutrell, economic research individual.

The second place presentation management team included Chelbie Bolton, Keifer Davis, Calvin Friesth and Joel Thompson. The global marketing team of Brandon Edwards and Brandon Woolley also earned second place team honors.

Students "who are not in a judged subjective contest" and will advance to the state meet due to their third place finishes included Luke Panter, spreadsheet applications; Jovan Gonzalez, medical office procedures; David Hollars, C++ programming; Tony Billingsley, JAVA programming; Colby Adams, PC troubleshooting; Candace Stillwagoner, banking and finance; Kacy Sheffield, legal office procedures; and Michael McAndrew, fundamentals of HTML.

Other students placing third but who did not advance to state in their individual event included Sarah McLeroy, advanced interview; Chase Helm, prepared speaking; and Crystal Figueroa, presentation management individual.

Micaela McSheffrey was recognized for placing fourth in graphic design promotion, while the fourth place global marking team consisted of Angie Hudson, Colby Adams, Crystal Figueroa and Jacob Jenkins.

Fifth place recognition went to Laura Ream, fundamental accounting; Valerie Walker, interview skills; and Jessica Arledge, medical office procedures. The administrative support team consisting of Cherish Bolton, Jeananne Fain, Micaela McSheffrey and Melissa Cutrell also placed fifth. Joe Beason was also recognized for placing sixth in payroll accounting.

In addition to these winners, Cherish Bolton was elected Area I Region III BPA president, Kacey Sheffield received a $500 scholarship and earned a Diplomat Degree, and Calvin Friesth was awarded a $500 scholarship.

Older Archives

Looking for News-Telegram Sports and News Archives for January 2004 - November 2008